Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Rain Fueled Planting Day – Three Sisters Garden June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

I decided a few days ago to dedicate a 5′ x 5′  raised bed to attempting the Native American Three Sisters Garden, I posted about earlier.   Once the rain subsided this evening, I planted 40 corn kernels from Buck Moore Feed.  The seeds in the Renee’s Garden pack are multicolored Indian Corn, which is used mostly for decorations, and I wanted to plant food, so I substituted sweet corn.

Sweet corn

Then, as if that wasn’t enough planting to do in one late evening, I planted some seeds in little pots in the greenhouse.

Sungold Tomatoes, because they seem to be prolific producers if the local farms and farmer’s market tables are any indication, Butternut Squash, and my most favorite of this season, Lemon Cucumbers.

Seeds

My beloved Lemon Cucumbers

I’m not through, preparing for the Fall Garden.  I’m going to start more seed tomorrow.  I just ran out of light.  The rain certainly inspired me to get the ball rolling.  It will be wonderful if it keeps raining for a few days.

 

One Response to “Rain Fueled Planting Day – Three Sisters Garden”

  1. […] at this crazy Lemon Cucumber. I am trying pickling a few of these to see if they turn into actual […]


Leave a comment