Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

My Garden, May 2015 – Everything is Different May 12, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:15 am

I decided to try to keep better track of my garden this season, especially the tomatoes.  I have planted lots of “new to me” varieties, and I’d like to remember what does well.  I’m really horrible at that; keeping track of the little plant markers and making notes.  With that in mind, I’ve been watching everything closely and taking lots of photos.

Everything is different this season.  We’ve had abundant rain and cooler temperatures than I can recall, in all my years of gardening.  My plants are all loaded and some things are producing much earlier than they usually do, like peppers and tomatillos.  I was excited to can my first two jars of Salsa Verde yesterday – with my own (and some Springdale Farm) tomatillos, onions, peppers, garlic and cilantro.  That’s a first for me, this magical alignment of ingredients from the garden.

I don’t remember ever enjoying my gardens quite this much before.  The first thing I do every morning is walk up the street to take my dad’s paper in, then rush back home to spend time in my gardens.  There is so much beauty in the gardens, and I feel like I’m seeing it all with new eyes now. You see, my sweet mom passed away suddenly and unexpectedly in January.  She was beautiful, and I adored her, and then she was gone.

So, with thunderstorms, possible hail, and damaging wind being threatened, I spent extra time in my gardens this morning.  Because, I know, in five minutes they could be gone, and there is nothing I could do to save them.  And they are beautiful now, and fragile and totally out of my control.  So, here are some of the photos I’ve taken of my garden, with some identifiers, because I’m trying to be better about that.  I’m going to be different.

Tomatillos, planted late March, 2014

Tomatillos, planted late March, 2014

Purple Calabash Tomato

Purple Calabash Tomato

Black and Brown Boar  Tomato

Black and Brown Boar
Tomato

Michael Pollan Tomato

Michael Pollan Tomato

IMG_0923

Arkansas Traveler

Arkansas Traveler

IMG_0952

Large Red Cherry

Sweet 100

Sweet 100

Mountain Princess

Mountain Princess

 

4 Responses to “My Garden, May 2015 – Everything is Different”

  1. Joy Says:

    Beautiful tomatoes. I saw in the paper the obit for your mom and know how much you miss her. I lost my mom 7 years ago and think of her often and thank her for the life lessons she and my dad taught me. They have served me well. I find solace in the following quote from Romeo and Juliet that I included in my mom’s eulogy (changing the pronoun to fit). “When he shall die take him and cut him out into stars and he shall make the face of heaven so fine that all the world will be in love with night and pay no worship to the garish sun.” Working in my garden and the night sky give me time to reflect on those who have gone before.

  2. austinurbangardens Says:

    Thank you Joy, for the sweet note – I love that quote, too. I have always loved the night sky, as well. I hope your gardens are doing well and that your reflections bring you peace.

  3. kathy Says:

    My condolences on your mom. We could tell how much you loved her and she knew too. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

