Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Alton Brown’s Scratch Onion Dip December 31, 2014

The holidays provide an excuse to eat things we don’t indulge in during the regular year, and you know I try to keep things local, seasonable and non-processed.  However, I was looking for an excuse to indulge a little and had some folks coming over, so I decided to try Alton Brown’s Scratch Onion Dip recipe.

This couldn’t be simpler to make, or any more delicious.  First, you slice onions.   I used a mix of onions from my dwindling garden onion stash – 1015s and White Bermudas.  (I’m starting to dread the time between the end of last year’s onions and next year’s harvest.)

Onions

Onions

I doubled the recipe so this was about 3 cups of onions.  The most important step in this process is to caramelize the onions, which takes a little time.  They cook over medium heat in a little of olive oil, and need to be stirred around for more even cooking. Easy!

Carmelizing

Caramelizing

You want them past the translucent stage, which will cause them to reduce quite a bit.  This brings out their sweetness.

Getting closer

Once they get to the desired stage, allow them to cool completely.  I also chopped them up so that people didn’t have strips of onion to contend with.

When cooled, I added them to the mix of mayonnaise, (I used Duke’s,) and sour cream, then added the white pepper and garlic powder and gave a good stir.

Mixing together

Mixing together

I made this a day ahead, to allow the flavors to meld.  I served it with Kettle Chips, which are non-GMO verified, and have no trans fats or preservatives, which made me feel better about eating potato chips!

Chips and Onion Dip

Chips and Onion Dip

Based on the reaction I got from people eating this onion dip, it’s going into permanent party recipe rotation.  It would be perfect for a Superbowl Party.

Alton Brown’s Onion Dip

 

5 Responses to “Alton Brown’s Scratch Onion Dip”

  1. Okay, I am officially STARVING now. That looks so delicious!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Huge Alton Brown fan, and this recipe is making my mouth water. Definitely pinning for after the January diet fades back to oblivion. Who knew onion dip was just caramelized onions? SO much better than the package. Thanks!

  3. […] Alton Brown’s Scratch Onion Dip […]


Leave a Reply

