Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Starting Fresh for the Fall Garden September 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:07 am
Tags:

In August my garden was full of peppers and melons.  Then, the first week of August my dad had a heart attack, and then open heart surgery.  I tried to keep my garden watered during that time, but it was too much, so I eventually just let it go.   Now things are better, Dad is recovering, and I’m able to think about gardening again, just in time for planting the Fall Garden.  Last weekend, I got busy,  cleared every thing out of the side beds and amended the soil.

Then,  I had drip irrigation installed in the side beds, which is tied to my sprinkler system.  This will be much more water efficient, not to mention time saving.

IMG_1638

I’ve been collecting and babying cabbage, cauliflower and broccoli transplants, as well as a couple of tomatoes, but its too hot yet to plant them, so they remain on the patio in their pots under the shade of a big pecan tree.

I’ve got seeds ready to go this weekend, carrots, radishes, lots of lettuces and more broccoli.  I stagger broccoli transplants and seeds to ensure a steady stream of broccoli.    I may even plant some potatoes.  Homegrown potatoes are amazing for Thanksgiving.  Fall is absolutely my favorite time to garden, even more than Spring.

 

4 Responses to “Starting Fresh for the Fall Garden”

  1. Kate S. Says:

    Sorry to hear about your dad! Glad things are on the mend.

  2. Joy Says:

    I lust after these types of beautifully build raised beds. Better Homes and Gardens might come a callin’.

  3. Sorry about your dad and hope things get better! I agree that fall gardening is the best!


Leave a Reply

