Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Homemade Body Butter July 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:34 am
Tags:

Last Christmas, I was gifted the most luscious, creamy, wonderful homemade Lavender, Rosemary Body Butter.  I’ve been out of it for a while, and thought it might be a fun mom/daughter adventure to try and make some.  I poked around the internet, and true to my nature, decided I didn’t need to follow a recipe.  I melted equal portions of shea butter and cocoa butter, added some jojoba oil and almond oil, then some lavender and sweet orange essential oils and let it partially harden in the fridge.  Once it was partially hardened, I whipped it.  The result seemed creamy enough, but not as fluffy as what I had received as a gift.  And it turned back into oil the moment I rubbed it on my skin.  Not horrible, but not perfect.

First batch

First batch

Since the first batch didn’t come out as light and fluffy as I wanted,  I procured the recipe from the friends who gifted the body butter to me and started over.  The recipe was from this site.

http://www.rawmazing.com/homemade-body-butter-recipe/

This time I measured, 2 cups of shea butter, 1 cup of coconut oil, and melted those down.  I then added a cup of almond oil, liberal dashes of lavender and orange oils, and stuck the bowl in the freezer.

Melted

Melted

 

Essential oils

Essential oils

Once the mixture had hardened somewhat, I took it out of the freezer and started whipping, until the texture became similar to frosting.

Whipping

Whipping

This was the texture I was hoping for, and it smelled wonderful.

Light Creamy Body Butter

Light Creamy Body Butter

 

It really was simple, once I followed the directions.  The proportions do matter, and using coconut oil instead of cocoa butter made a big difference in scent and texture.

 

 

 

20 Responses to “Homemade Body Butter”

  1. I want to try this! Does it have to be stored in the refrigerator?

  2. Carl Crownover Says:

    Sounds like a possible nice gift for your female friends. It’s good to heatr coconut oil has other uses.. Dad

  3. yardandplate Says:

    Thanks for the recipe. These make awesome gifts!

  4. Wow that sounds amazing! Almost good enough to eat 😉

  5. Rachel Says:

    Mmmmm…. ahhhhhhh…. 🙂

  6. tami Says:

    How long is it good for?

  7. Lisa Says:

    I think Don’t was referring to Jenna’s post about nourish organic.com not your original post about making the body butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It looks amazing. I’m going to try it later today.


Leave a Reply

