Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Artisan Bistro in Lakeway June 23, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:03 am
Tags: ,

Several years ago, I read a Statesman article highlighting French restaurants in and around Austin, as part of the run up to Bastille Day.  I was intrigued by one, Artisan Bistro, and ventured out to Lakeway to find it a couple days later.  It was newish at the time, having taken over the space that was previously inhabited by a wine shop.  I met the friendly owner  Loreen, and the French chef Cesidio d’Andrea, and had the best French Onion Soup I’d ever tasted.  Everything about the experience was so charming, I can’t believe it took me so long to return.

Mom needed a change of scenery, so we headed to Lakeway for lunch earlier this week.  I couldn’t wait to order the French Onion Soup, Gratinee again.

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

Deliciously rich vegetarian* broth is the base of the soup, filled with delicious onions and topped with a slice of bread and Gruyere.  I am gluten sensitive but didn’t want to alter the dish, so I just didn’t eat the bread.  It was as amazing as I remembered.

Mom ordered classic Croque Monsieur which came with frites.  The sandwich looked amazing, and he really liked it and the frites were perfect.

Croque Monsier

Croque Monsier

Artisan Bistro also serves as a bakeshop for amazing looking breads and pastries.

Gorgeous breads

Gorgeous breads

Pastries

Pastries

The restaurant also hosts monthly wine dinners and has brunch on Sundays.  Each year for Bastille Day they also through a big celebration bash, buffet style.

My friend over at the Way Out West Austin blog, has several posts about Artisan Bistro with much better pictures than mine.

Next time you are in Lakeway, check it out!

*I initially reported that the soup was made with beef broth, so this is a correction.  All vegetarian!

 

Leave a Reply

