Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Onion and Rosemary Confiturra April 29, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 6:09 pm
Tags: , ,

After my last post on harvesting onions, I got lots of queries about what I was going to do with them all.   I will pickle some more of them, but today I decided to try something new to me.  I wanted to make something a bit sweet, but not too sweet, so I found this recipe on Serious Eats, for Onion and Rosemary Confiturra.

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/08/seriously-italian-onion-and-rosemary-confiturra-recipe.html

I doubled it, which meant that it would have a cup of honey and 1/2 cup of sugar to 6 pounds of onions.  Onions release their own sugar when they are cooked, so I didn’t want a recipe that added lots of additional sweetness.  I liked the idea of Rosemary and snipped some and some bay leaves from my garden.

I started by slicing 6 pounds of my garden onions, both 1015s and a few Red Creoles.

Garden onions

Garden onions

I had to work in batches so I sauteed them in olive oil, until they gave up lots of their juices and collapsed.  Once I got them where they needed to be, I combined the two pans and added the balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar, white wine, honey and sugar.  (about half of the sugar than the recipe called for.)

IMG_3051

Cooking down

Cooking down

It took longer than the recipe suggested to get the mixture reduced by half into a jam like consistency, because I doubled it.   As it reduced, it got darker and finally ended up a dark chestnut color.  The recipe said that this could be canned in a hot water back, and I did that, although I will keep it in the refrigerator.  The onions are not acidic on their own, and the ratio of vinegars and sugar added, just doesn’t seem right to me for this to be shelf stable.  I don’t have any ph test strips, so better safe than sorry.

Final product!

Final product!

Mom was hanging out with me, so we  tasted some on CKC Chèvre, and it was complex and delicious.  It will make a sophisticated appetizer  with a variety of cheeses on bread or crackers.  I think it would also be great on a burger, or steak.

 

2 Responses to “Onion and Rosemary Confiturra”

  1. Having my morning coffee…and lusting over your recipe! My mouth is watering!


Leave a Reply

