Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Time to Plant Onions, Leeks and Potatoes January 26, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:19 am
Tags: , ,

I don’t always follow the guides, because I like to push the envelope and try to beat my previous attempts with certain veggies.  Last Spring, I do feel like I had tomatoes before anyone else, with the exception of Austin Urban Farm, a local gardener/farmer I have not had the pleasure of meeting in person.  I chose to believe there would be no freeze after late February and planted my home sprouted transplants then.  And it worked.

The guide I refer to the most is the Texas Agrilife Extension Agency Guide.   According to the guide, this is the perfect time to plant onions, leeks and potatoes.

Natural Gardener has 3 types of seed potatoes now, Red Lasodas, Kennebecs, and Yukon Golds.   Potatoes are so easy – just plant them and they grow.  I plant them deeper when it is very cold, 6-8 inches.  I’ll put mine in this weekend at about 6 inches deep.  You can mound them as they come up, to get a larger yield, but I never do.

They also have leeks:

IMG_0867

Leeks need to be planted and cared for a little differently than onions.  You think of an onion, a large bulb at the end of a thin stalk.  The most desirable part of a leek is more uniformly white colored from the bulb end, up throughout the stalk.  The part that remains white, is that which remains below the soil.  So you plant leeks much deeper than onions, and for the most desirable outcome, you mound soil up above the stalk and the leek grows.

As far as onions are concerned, I disregard the guides and plant them in November.  I find that the onions get larger this way, although many will go to seed/bolt.  They are still edible after they bolt, so I don’t care so much.  The Natural Gardener has loads of onions ready to go right now.

IMG_0866

This would be the perfect weekend to get your onions and potatoes in.  We have warm weather, perfect for being outside, and still at least another week or never before we freeze again.  Onions are slow growers, if you want mature onions.  Plant in a space where you aren’t planting any Spring crops in March, because they need at least 80-120 days.

Get you and your aliums and taters out into the garden!

 

Leave a Reply

