Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Planting Bare Root Strawberries November 26, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

Strawberry transplants start showing up in these parts, around late February.  I have purchased and planted these February strawberry plants.  I have also purchased bare root strawberries from several sources over the years.  www.willisorchards.com is my current go to for bare root berries and blackberry plants.  Bare root strawberries are just that – bare root.  There is little or no plant to speak of, just a tangle of roots.  The plants are dormant, and come to life once the roots come into contact with soil and water.

Bare root strawberries

In my experience, the bare root strawberrys, planted in late Fall/Early Winter, produce greater yields in the Spring, than the Spring planted transplants.  I believe their root systems have a better chance of getting established, and for that reason, they produce more fruit.  They do need to be covered in freezes, if the leaves have sprouted.

This past weekend, I made room for about 30 strawberry plants, in two 4×4 raised garden beds.  I amended the existing soil with Turkey Compost and decomposed granite – the turkey compost for nutrients, and the granite for drainage.  Strawberries like a well drained soil.

Once planted, I mulched heavily around the plants, in an effort to keep them warm all winter.  I used Texas Native Hardwood Mulch, because it is shredded and contains very few large chunks.  This mulch will break down easier than chunkier mulch, and I won’t have to scrape it out of the beds once strawberry season is over.

Hard to see, but they are in there!

Strawberry bed.

They are fond of food in the later winter, early Fall, and consume lots of water.  But, these beauties taste better than any store bought strawberries.  Something else to look forward to.

 

 

7 Responses to “Planting Bare Root Strawberries”

  1. lazysmurf Says:

    I was just wondering about planting my strawberries in the raised bed. I haven’t had much luck growing them in pots but probably because I am starting them as transplants. So, this may seem like a stupid question, but do you just leave them in there after the season is over?

    • I had limited growing space until a few days ago, so I pull them once it gets hot and their production stops. Then I buy new bare root plants, which are dormant until they hit the soil and get water. I protect them through the winter with lots of mulch and cover for freezes; I pick off the blooms and runners, until early Spring. I never had much luck with them in pots either – they always looked great, but I never had much production. They like to be fertilized in the Spring too. Even now that I have room, I’ll most likely pull up ad plant as bare root in the Winter. Hope that helps!

  2. Sarah Says:

    I clicked on over to Willis Orchards and saw that the smallest order of strawberries is 50 plants…wow, that’s a lot! I’m brand-new to gardening, but my 18mo old son LOVES strawberries, so I thought that would be a fun place to start. But it sounds like you’ve not had much luck with strawberries in containers (I rent, so I’d have to grow in containers)??

    • Sarah, you can absolutely grow strawberries in containers. My issue is that I need to grow enough to freeze, and preserve, because I don’t eat them when they aren’t in season. In my experience, one plant may yield 10-15 strawberries in one season, so you will want to plant several, at least. Good luck, and let me know how it goes!


Leave a Reply

