Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Boozy Texas Fig Jam August 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:24 am
Tags: ,

I gave away all of my fig jam to the nurses who took care of my mom at Seton, so yesterday I was fortunate enough to scoop up some of Lightsey Farms’ figs, a variety of Texas Ever bearing, Brown Turkey, and Celeste figs, I believe.  I made it home with about 4 pounds, but once sorted, ended up with slightly less.  I macerated them in 4 cups of organic sugar for a few hours, while I did other things, then added the juice and zest of 2 lemons, and 2 vanilla beans, and put them on the stove.

Simmering Figs

 

Once they were soft, I used the immersion blender to turn them into jam consistency and put them back on the stove.  This stage is dangerous, even on low heat, because the jam erupts into volcanic-like bubble explosions, and can make a mess of the stove, so it is best to keep stirring.  I like the idea of orange and fig together, but had no oranges.  I did have Patron Orange Liqueur however, and added about a fourth of a cup.  After letting the alcohol cook off, I tasted it and it was so good, I glugged in some more, perhaps another fourth cup.  And it was even better.

So, I put into my hot sterile jars, and processed it in a water bath for about 15 minutes.

Boozy Texas Fig Jam

It feels good to be back in the kitchen!

 

 

6 Responses to “Boozy Texas Fig Jam”

  1. aneelee Says:

    Glad to see that your out and about at the markets and cooking again. 🙂 Welcome back.

  2. shefskitchen Says:

    i’m always inspired by what you do with what you get at the markets (or your garden)! I’ve made lemon fig jam but will try the orange combo. Still not canning yet though….need to finally learn how to do that!

  3. Our figs are just ripening. We want to try this!
    Ann


Leave a Reply

