Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Kentucky Bourbon Vanilla Peaches May 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:11 am
Tags: , ,

Peaches are already coming in to the farmer’s markets, a few weeks early.  Last Spring I went peach crazy, and this Spring will be no different.  I found a recipe called Kentucky Bourbon Peaches on the Allspice Chronicles (Adapted from the Bernardin Guide to Home Preserving.)  I changed it up to make it my own and added vanilla beans, and substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar.

I picked up peaches from Lightsey Farms and Caskey Farms for some variation.  The Lightsey peaches were smaller, and many were not yet ripe, which I should have tested before I got started.  The Caskey Farms peaches were all ripe and larger.

Once the peaches were rinsed, I blanched them in boiling water for about 2 minutes, then removed them with a slotted spoon and placed them into iced water, to prevent cooking.

Once cooled, I removed the skins and the pits, and placed the peaches in a solution of 4 parts water, 1 part lemon juice to preserve their peachy color.  I had quite a few peaches, so I was working a batch at a time.  For the perfectly ripe peaches that were able to be skinned whole, I cut them into halves or quarters.  Once all of the peaches had been processed, I drained them.

I put the sugar mixture on the stove to simmer, 8 cups water, 1 cup organic sugar, 1 cup organic brown sugar, and a spice bag containing cinnamon sticks, cloves, and ginger (candied because it was what I had.)  I let that simmer for about 10 minutes while preparing my canning jars.  Next, I scraped the vanilla out of 2 vanilla beans.

When the steralized jars were ready, I put the peaches, the vanilla, and the beans into the simmering sugar mixture, and let them all simmer for about a 10 minutes.  I pulled out the vanilla beans, and poured a generous 1/2 cup of Kentucky Bourbon, I used Evan Williams, (I would have used Garrison Brothers, but my liquir store was out) into the mix.  After letting that simmer for a short bit, I ladled the peaches into pint size jars and sealed.  I processed in a water bath per the recipe for 20 minutes, and viola!

I haven’t tried these yet, but the recipients of the two jars I gave away were impressed.  One friend served his over vanilla ice cream, with a ginger cookie, and pecans.  Sounds about right.  I had intended to also make Brandied peaches, but didn’t have enough ripe peaches for both recipes.  I’ll be doing that as soon as the rest of mine ripen.

 

8 Responses to “Kentucky Bourbon Vanilla Peaches”

  1. Kristina Says:

    These look Amazing! I may have to purchase peaches this year as my tree does not so great. But I can already imagine those Kentucky Bourbon Peaches served over a warm bread pudding. Mmmmm! Thanks for sharing the how too.

  2. I had zero peaches on my little dwarf tree. They were easy to make and I think will make great gifts!

  3. Ah, just this morning I was looking at peach preserving recipes. One was for brandied peaches with vanilla but it had the peaches left whole, pit and all. Didn’t sound ‘right’ to me. I might just give it a shot with your initial prep steps! Thanks!

  4. PEACH TIME! I’m all over this. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. shefskitchen Says:

    this looks great! i’ve been enjoying the lightsey farms ones too –they are pretty small but perfect for little hands. where can i get the caskey farms ones?? also, if I don’t actually can, do you think i can still make this and it would last a few days?

    • I got the Caskey Farms peaches at the Barton Creek Farmer’s Market on Saturday. You don’t need to can them as long as you refrigerate them. They should be good for more than a few days, if you can keep from eating them. Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

