Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Early April in an Austin Urban Garden April 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:00 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve been so busy lately, I’ve gotten way behind on this blog.  The gardens are coming along nicely with our frequent rain.  The tomato plants I planted on the side in February, in defiance of the threatened last frost, are taller than I and have set fruit.

Image

The tomatoes planted in early March are growing and flowering like crazy, which is a little more time appropriate.  The Matt’s Wild Cherry volunteers have set a ton of tiny fruit.  This is my least favorite tomato variety, and I will continue to harvest for a while, then dedicate the space to something I enjoy more.  

Image

 

I’m getting 5 to 10 strawberries a day and have been for a couple of weeks.  I’m eating some and freezing some for later.  Because my volume is low, I purchased some Poteet Strawberries for jam.  I made strawberry, vanilla, meyer lemon jam with meyer lemons from a friend’s tree in Houston.  My meyers were done weeks ago.

Image

The onions are the garden star right now, as I’ve harvested probably 30 fairly large onions that had bolted.  I’ve eaten some bur dried most for storage in a mesh bag that the G and S Oranges come in.  I have loads more to harvest, probably this weekend, as one by one they are showing signs of wanting to lay down.

Image

 

The peppers are just in the ground and flowering, as they tend to produce better in the heat.  I’ll put in more peppers, watermelon seeds, cucumber seeds and squash perhaps in the onion beds once I harvest those and amend the soil with compost and a bunch of new soil.  

I’d love to hear how your gardens are growing!

 

 

7 Responses to “Early April in an Austin Urban Garden”

  1. meryjohnson Says:

    Hey its so yummy strawberries, and i can’t believe that you are getting all these in your own garden. I appreciate you that you are maintaining your garden so nicely. How beautiful it will be if i could do it at my own. could you please give me some tips on tree guard
    Really thanks to you for posting all these beautiful stuff pics.

  2. you must have planted your stuff way earlier than we did lol. ours look nothing like that at this point. we had 1 tiny little strawberry the size of a dime so far.you must have planted your stuff way earlier than we did lol. ours look nothing like that at this point. we had 1 tiny little strawberry the size of a dime so far.

  3. jnazak Says:

    Hi! Great blog! Congratulations on your gardening success. Totally jealous of the onions. There’s a resource that I thought you and your readers might like to know about: Hill Country Natives nursery http://www.hillcountrynatives.net . Their upcoming event Roots & Fruits Faire on Saturday May 5 is going to have a Native Bee Motel, tours of their permaculture demonstration gardens, and all sorts of other cool stuff. Hope to see some of you there.

  4. jnazak Says:

    Nice blog! Totally jealous of your tomatoes and onions. Hey – there’s a resource that I thought you and your readers might like to know about: Hill Country Natives nursery, hillcountrynatives.net . Their event Roots & Fruits Faire coming up Saturday May 5 is going to have all kinds of cool stuff, including a Native Bee Motel and permaculture demonstration gardens. Hope to see some of you there!

  5. Your harvest looks great and so yummy. I especially like the strawberries.


Leave a Reply

