Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Thunder Heart Bison Ranch to Trailer December 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:32 am

Thunder Heart Bison has been a staple in my diet for years,  since they showed up at the SFC Farmer’s Markets.   The Fitzsimons family raises grass-fed buffalo on the Shape Ranch, and is the only bison ranch in the United States to be Animal Welfare Approved by the Animal Welfare Institute.

The drought took a toll on Thunder Heart’s herd and there was little to no bison to be sold for several months this year, and I missed them at the farmer’s markets.  About a month ago, while shopping at the Springdale Farm farmstand, I saw a flier for Thunder Heart Bison Ranch to Trailer, and was very excited to try it.

Last week I stopped by the trailer at 1120 W. 5th Street and ordered a bison burger with sweet potato fries.  I didn’t have my camera with me, so I ordered it to go.  The burger was dressed with fresh lettuce, tomato and spring onions, from a local farm and served in a bun from Sweetish Hill.

Thunder Heart Bison Burger

The burger was very substantial, yet it was so delicious I ate the whole thing.  I’m going to try it again before declaring it my favorite burger in Austin, but I’m pretty sure that title will stand, it was that good.  I think the sweet potato fries steamed a bit in the bag on the way home, so I’ll give those a try again the spot to be completely fair.

I have also had the Thunder Heart Chili, last night, in fact with Gardener’s Feast tamales, and also on the Urban Farm Tour a couple of weeks ago.  The chili is spicy and meaty and really good, no beans, of course.  It is available at the SFC Farmer’s Market, frozen by the quart, as well.

Other menu offerings at the trailer are Coffee Braised Short Ribs, Oxtail Pho, Soft Bison Tacos, Tequila Tacos and Asian Steak Salad.  I want to try them all.

There are some parking spots available for the trailer, and behind it, hidden from view from the street is a covered patio with tables.  There was a musician strumming guitar there this week when I stopped by for lunch.

For more information on Thunder Heart Bison Ranch to Trailer, check out their Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/thethunderhearttrailer

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

