Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Fall Potato Harvest December 3, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:05 am
Tags: ,

Potatoes are one of my favorite things to grow, because you never know what you are going to get until you dig them up.  This year, I planted seed potatoes from Boggy Creek Farm Labor Day Weekend.  I remember that day so vividly because I had not gardened much all summer, with our horrible heat and drought.  I really had to amend the soil and loosen it up from being baked in the dry heat.  It was the first day back to gardening, and I enjoyed planting with my morning coffee.  I remember it also, because it was the day the devastating wildfires in Bastrop broke out.

Planting Day

 

I planted potatoes on this day, specifically for them to be ready for Thanksgiving.   Our visiting relatives insisted on having the Thanksgiving meal brought in from Whole Foods, so I didn’t get to serve them.  Earlier this weeks, I went out to dig them up.  A friend had stopped by, and when I told him digging potatoes was one of my favorite things, he wanted to help.

First, I pulled up each plant, one by one.  Each plant having one or two smaller potatoes attached in the roots.  My friend was discouraged at the apparent lack of potatoes, but I said, “Just wait and see.”  Once the plants were all cleared out, we began to turn the soil deeply, from one end of the garden to the other, bringing up more and more potatoes, red and white, of varying sizes.  Once the 4’x4′ space had been turned, the collandar was overflowing with an impressive harvest for this amount of space.

Freshely dug

 

They cleaned up nicely.

Ready to Eat

 

Potatoes will keep for a long time, if you can keep from eating them all at once.  I enjoy them roasted in the oven with rosemary and olive oil, or roasted then smashed with a little butter and CKC Herbed Chevre.   I should save some for seed potatoes, but I never do – they always get eaten.  It will be time to plant again around February for a Spring Harvest.

 

 

2 Responses to “Fall Potato Harvest”

  1. Awesome harvest. Can’t wait for February!

  2. Thanks Caroline! I credit my success to Boggy Creek Farm’s seed potatoes. They are probably 10th generation, and were very well rooted. The plants came up faster than ever and survived some horrible wind storms.


Leave a Reply

