Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Organic Orange and Meyer Lemon Marmalade November 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:48 am
Tags: , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago, I watched Ina Garten make an incredible gift basket of Date, Nut Bread, Orange Marmalade, Orange  Cream Cheese, and Muesli.  Ever since I saw that old episode, I have been obsessed with making orange marmalade, and recreating a similar gift basket.

So, my friend Stephanie, was placing an order to G and S Groves, an organic citrus grower in the valley, and offered to order me a box of oranges.  I picked up my box on Monday, and it was a huge!  The Mars oranges that are in season now, are fairly thin skinned, and are not really pretty.  I didn’t think a marmalade would be like I wanted with just these oranges, so I picked a couple Naval Oranges off of my new tree, an indiscretion that came pre-loaded with exactly four nearly ripe oranges.

Naval Orange Tree

The recipe called for lemons, but I needed a use for the remaining Meyer Lemons on my tree, so I picked two.

Slicing Oranges and Lemons

The recipe called for the oranges and lemons to be cut in half lengthwise, then sliced thinly.  Once I finished slicing, probably not as thinly as I should have, I put all of the citrus in the pot of water and brought it to a boil.  Next, I removed it from the heat and added in the organic sugar, and set it aside, covered.   The recipe called for it to sit overnight, but I deemed 4 hours enough time, and the sugar was certainly dissolved in that time.  The house smelled so citrusy and delicious all day.

Starting out

After 4 hours, I bought the mixture up to a simmer, and simmered it for 2 hours.  Once it had cooked down, I brought it back up to a boil and stuck in the thermometer.  I watched and waited until it reached 220 (or nearly,) about 20 minutes.  I need a better thermometer, mine only goes to 220 and seems resistant to reach that point.

Cooking down the marmalade

Next, I sterilized the jars, and lined them up for ladling the mixture into the jars.  It turned out such a pretty color.  I processed the jars in a water bath for about 15 minutes.

All lids down on Orange Marmalade

I’m looking forward to making winter citrus centered gift baskets this year, and this marmalade will be the anchor.  I still have lots of oranges left to process, so I might just make more of this, it is so tasty and pretty.

The original recipe is here:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/annas-orange-marmalade-recipe/index.html

 

4 Responses to “Organic Orange and Meyer Lemon Marmalade”

  1. Cecilia Says:

    Carla…as usual, your canning endeavors look wonderful, and will surely taste great. Thanks for posting. Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving (did you cook for 18 this year?). Cecilia

  2. Oh, and no, I didn’t get to cook. Out of town relatives insisted on ordering the entire meal from Whole Foods. It was very good, but I prefer cooking, as you know.

  3. Rachelle Says:

    Always amazed at your canning skills and the lovely treats that you produce!


Leave a Reply

