Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Thanksgiving in an Austin Urban Garden November 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:33 pm
Tags: , ,

It is so nice that the weather has returned to somewhat comfortable enough to enjoy gardening again.  The recent couple bouts of rain, has made the gardens take off and look very happy.  The difference in rainwater and city water is so noticeable.

The onions and leeks are all together in the side wood beds.  Lucky for me, a couple of garlic plants came up from last season.

Leeks, onions, garlic

 

Sadly, I discovered that fire ants had built a home in that far bed, and I had to excavate and treat with Greenlight Fire Ant killer.  I had to sacrifice some of those onions, but hopefully it will work.

I planted several variaties of broccoli and they are healthy and starting to show crowns.

Broccoli looking good

Crown forming

 

The 8 foot bed in back, from which I recently harvested green beans, still contains carrots and potatoes.  I planted the potatoes to be ready for Thanksgiving, but our relatives insisted on ordering the meal out, rather than me cooking.  Thankfully, they ordered it Whole Foods, and it was delicious.

Carrots and Potatoes

The middle of the 24 foot bed, is filled with a variety of lettuces, arugula and spinach.  I need to harvest and eat it soon.

Lettuces and Arugula

 

Last week, my bare root strawberry plants arrived, looking more like a mass of dried out roots than actual plants.  But, just a couple of days after planting 36 plants, lots of them had already sprouted leaves.

Strawberry plant sprouting

I’m looking forward to these gardens receiving more rain overnight and tomorrow.  It makes such a difference!  I planted more onions today, as well as some snap peas.  It might be too late for the snap peas, but we’ll see.  I’m looking forward to harvesting the potatoes and carrots soon.

Happy gardening!

 

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving in an Austin Urban Garden”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    Where did you get your strawberry plants, Carla? And how long did they take to arrive after you ordered?

  2. I ordered them from Willis Orchards, a few weeks prior to the date they were to start shipping. They shipped arrived a day or two after they shipped, and they sent a tracking number.


Leave a Reply

