Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Preserving the Tomatillo Harvest, Salsa Verde November 14, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:45 am
Tags: , ,

Tomatillos are part of the nightshade family.  I don’t grow them, because the plants are rather large and take up space, and they need a second plant to guarantee fruit set.  I just don’t have room for them.

Springdale Farm had loads of tomatillos at their Saturday market, and I bought about 4 pounds, with a recipe in mind from Canning for a New Generation, for Salsa Verde.

The recipe is quite simple, but these tomatillos take a while to de-husk.  They are very sticky inside their little jackets.  Once that is done, everything flows smoothly.

Springdale Tomatillos

 
The well rinsed tomatillos (3.5 pounds) are combined with 1 white onion, 5 serrano peppers, 5 cloves of garlic ina roasting pan and roasted at 500 until they char and collapse.  I wanted lots of char for flavor, so when they started losing their shape, I turned the oven on broil for a couple of minutes.

 

Roasted Vegetables
The whole lot gets pureed in a blender with 1 cup firmly packed fresh cilantro.  The puree goes into a big pot with 2/3 cup of fresh squeezed lime (I had limes from my tree) and 1 tbls. salt.  After boiling the mixture for a couple of minutes, I ladeled the hot salsa into my steralized jars.  The recipe calls for 5 minutes in a water bath, but I left them in for 10.
 

Salsa Verde

 
This salsa is very bright, somewhat acidic from the lime, with a tad bit of heat.  I have several delicious plans for this Salsa Verde, Chicken Enchiladas with Full Quiver Monterrey Jack, Migas, Chilaquiles, and as a topping for the tamales  I’ll make for Christmas.  I’ve already given one jar away, and promised another, so I’ll be making more.   It is so good, that I’ve ordered another four pounds from Springdale and may double that order, so I can fill my pantry with this delicious salsa.  It is definately hoard worthy.
 

2 Responses to “Preserving the Tomatillo Harvest, Salsa Verde”

  1. Claudia A Says:

    They are really easy to grow, though! If you have a medium bed where you can let a couple of them sprawl unattended, you will be rewarded with hassle-free harvests almost daily. I should have canned some but they were so awesome and fresh we just ate them all in everyday cooking. So good!

  2. I had a plant once that took up almost a whole 5×5 bed, but when Cecilia informed me I needed more than one, I dug it up and gave it to her. I should try again.


Leave a Reply

