Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Mid-October in an Austin Urban Garden – After the rain October 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 5:55 pm
Tags: ,

There is always a huge element of luck in gardening, in my estimation, at least.  Having pulled up everything in the midst of the ridiculous heat spell and horrid drought, I was hesitant to plant again.  On Labor Day, I decided to risk the heat returning and planted potatoes, carrots and green beans in a 4’x8′ bed.  Fortunately, there were very few 100 degree days after that, and with the 2 inches of rain that fell this past weekend, that garden has taken off.  It is hard to believe this was all seeds and seed potatoes one month and 5 days ago.  The potato plants are huge!

Beans, carrots, Potatoes

The green beans are flowering and should start showing beans by the weekend.  The carrots, which are hidden in this picture are growing well, and the potatoes, the biggest surprise, are flowering already.  I’m hoping for garden potatoes for Thanksgiving and should be on track.

The big bed in the back, planted later, is making a fine showing of spinach, lettuces and broccoli.  And weeds.  Having sat dormant for several months, watering has brought forth some very aggressive weeds, but I’m so thankful to be growing food again, I don’t care.

Broccoli, lettuces, spinach

I have reserved 8 feet of space of this big bed for strawberries, which will arrive in the next week or so.  I’m doubling up on my strawberry planting this year, because I want lots this Spring.

I found leeks a couple weeks ago at Breed and Company, and bought the flat.  I got those planted on the side where the onions will go after November 1st.

Leeks and future onion beds

I plant lots of onions every year.   Some will bolt and have to be harvested early, but can still be eaten.  Those that make it to maturity without bolting, will be allowed to dry and stored in a box in my utility room.  I’m still eating onions I planted last November.  They are inexpensive, easy to grow, and very rewarding.  I get mine from Dixondale Farms.  http://www.dixondalefarms.com

Happy gardening!

 

2 Responses to “Mid-October in an Austin Urban Garden – After the rain”

  1. Claudia A Says:

    You are so way ahead of me. I may be really lame in the fall garden this year. Just too much going on. The tomatoes I planted are hanging in, and I’ll definitely do carrots and beets and some kind of greens. Should’ve tried the potatoes. Oh well. Let me know if your fall potatoes turn up well this time!

  2. Hey Claudia,
    I’ve missed seeing you around! Must get together. My garden was rocking right along, then the wind today laid everything down on its side. The potatoes were already 3 feet tall and now they are down, as are the carrots, and lettuce. The broccoli, spinach and beans look better. Dang wind. I’m hoping the tubers won’t suffer from their plants being tossed around. Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

