Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Planting Guide for September, Mercury, Zone 47 August 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:51 am
Tags: ,

I started doing these monthly planting guides for ongoing support for our raised garden clients.  When I started publishing them to Twitter and Facebook, lots of folks seemed to appreciate them, so I continue.   The guides are based on planting guides prepared by the Texas Agri-life Extension office, The Natural Gardener, other guides I find around, and a tiny smidgeon of my own experience.

These guides are based on normal weather patterns, average first and last frost dates, and average first and last freeze dates for Travis County.  Nothing about our weather has been normal this summer, so some of this information may not work for our current situation.  I think I would hold off on planting the tender greens until the weather breaks, perhaps later in September.

Here we go:

Artichoke transplants, Asian Greens, Carrots, Cauliflower, Chard, Collards, Garlic, Greens, Kale, Kohlrabi, Lettuce, Mustard, Onions, Peas, Radish, Shallots, Spinach, Turnips

Broccoli transplants, Brussels Sprouts transplants, Cabbage transplants

All perennial herb plants; sage, rosemary, thyme, oregano, plus cilantro, dill, fennel, parsley Seed: Borage, caraway, chamomile, chervil, chives, cilantro, dill, fennel, parsley, summer savory

My garden consists of the 5 tomato plants I bought a couple of months ago, and babied through the worst of the heat.  They are hanging on with lots of water, and I expect them to start setting fruit as soon as it cools off a bit. 

My tomato garden

Tiny tomato

My personal plan, is to continue checking the weather obsessively, refresh and update my herb garden which lives in partial shade of a pecan tree on my patio, and then get some broccoli transplants in the ground in the next couple weeks.  I’ll seed for broccoli as well, but will hold off seeding for lettuce and spinach until mid month, provided it gets a little cooler.  I’ll plant snow peas once the 100 degree days are gone and carrots, too.  I haven’t ordered my onions or garlic yet, but will do that this week for delivery in early November.

 

6 Responses to “Planting Guide for September, Mercury, Zone 47”

  1. Okay. I killed the mint plant in my flower pot, so it’s time to do something else. I think I might try a rosemary bush this time around based on the list you just published.

  2. Jon Says:

    Thanks for posting this usefull info. Do you mind sharing where it is that you order your seeds and presumably your transplants from? Thanks so much.

    • Hi Jon,
      I like Renee’s Garden seeds, and sometimes order them directly. They carry them at Natural Gardener, where I also buy transplants. I prefer transplants from Gabriel Valley, as they are certified organic. Natural Gardener carries these transplants. I also sometimes get transplants at The Great Outdoors on South Congress, or Breed and Company on 29th. The reputable garden stores will only sell seeds and transplants that are appropriate for the planting season, while the Big Box stores may not necessarily cull their inventory as the seasons change. I also buy transplants from various farms selling produce at the farmer’s markets. Sometimes they sell transplants as well. Hope that helps! Thanks for the comment.

      • Jon Says:

        Thanks so much for the response. This definitely helps (as does the cooler weather)! I have a 10×16 raised garden and I am in the process of filling it up. So far, what I have planted has “taken off” with the break in temperature.

  3. I’m so glad your garden is doing well. I feel like we may be in the clear, weather wise, although more rain would be amazing. Best of luck, Jon!


Leave a Reply

