Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Vegetable Planting Guide for August, Austin, Zone 8 August 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:36 am
Tags: ,

Just for the record, I’m not planting anything for at least another 2 weeks.  I have 10 tomato transplants in gallon pots that I’m babying like crazy, moving them out of afternoon sun, and they still struggle with the heat.  The won’t go into the ground until the heat backs off, and I’ll use this time to let the garden rest and amend the soil.

From seed:

Beans, Corn, cucumber, Okra, garlic, shallots, black-eyed peas, taters, summer squash, Malabar spinach

From seed in pots or flats with protection from afternoon sun, such as shade cloth:  (I’m going to wait for cooler weather then plant transplants)

Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, chard, Chinese cabbage, fennel, kale, rutabaga

Transplants:

Peppers, eggplant, tomatoes (early) cucumber

 

2 Responses to “Vegetable Planting Guide for August, Austin, Zone 8”

  1. Claudia A Says:

    I bought my tomato transplants, too. Will be clearing out the beds this weekend and see how the weather goes. I also bought a cucumber transplant. The eggplants and peppers are all still going crazy despite the heat. We may need to can a bunch of escabeche together 🙂 I have piles of hot banana peppers if you want to try your hand at some sort of relish…

    • I’m going to try to get my soil amended and turned this week so I can be ready to plant if it ever cools off. When do you want to come over? I have lots of vinegar, salt and jars. I can get whatever else we want to can at the Farmer’s Market.


Leave a Reply

