Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Peach Jam with Ginger and Cardamom July 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:00 am
Tags: , ,

I am going to quit apologizing for my new canning obsession.  Make fun of me all you want (you know who you are), but if you do, you give up your right to raid my pantry.  Pffff.  So there.

I was asked by an out of town visitor to locate some Fredericksburg peaches last week.  We looked all over, and I finally found a stand on 360 near Bee Caves.  After trying one, I decided that I’d like to try my hand at making jam.  So, I procured a box o peaches – 1/4 bushel to be exact.  My new favorite cookbook  Canning for a New Generation by Liana Krissoff, had a great recipe for Classic Peach Jam.  I procured the apples from the Barton Creek Farmer’s market.  For those who follow my no grocery store project, after over 18 months of not shopping at the grocery store, I had to go to get Organic Cane Sugar.    I couldn’t find a recipe using just honey, so sugar was a must.

I had an idea to add crystalized ginger and cardamom to the recipe, and got both of those items at Savory Spice Shop.

So, I scored, blanched and peeled the peaches, which took quite some time.   I didn’t want to ruin it all if the cardamom idea wasn’t a good one, so I divided the peaches in half.  I added the chopped ginger at the last phase of cooking the first batch.

The recipes in this book call for cooking apples, I believe in place of pectin.  So, while cooking the strained peach juice with the apples for the second batch, I added a handful of cardamom pods.

Cooking Down the Syrup

Once I achieved what I thought would be the right amount of spice, I scooped the pods out with a slotted spoon, prior to adding the peaches back in.

The end result, was 6 full pints of jam, and 4 little jars  peach jam, half with just ginger, and half with ginger and cardamom.

The first half of my jam project

As my summer of canning continues, I’m finding that home canned goods are a commodity.  I’ve had several people offer to trade their home canned goods, or other foods, for mine and I’m having a Ball.  Pun intended.

 

 

7 Responses to “Peach Jam with Ginger and Cardamom”

  1. Kristi Says:

    Happened upon your blog in search of recipes for canning peaches! I also love Canning for a New Generation and have been obsessed! I’ve already canned the Peaches in Vanilla Syrup. I am planning to try the Classic Peach Jam recipe and like your cardamom and ginger suggestions. But I have a TON of peaches. Do you have any other suggestions? I was thinking peach pie filling would be fun!

    • Hey Kristi! Thanks for the comment. I think pie filling would be perfect. The version of peach jam that I’m getting the most raves about is that Classic recipe, into which I added chopped chrystalized ginger and brandy. My dear friend who sells her conserves for a living, suggested both chrystalized ginger and finely chopped fresh ginger. I’ll poke around my other books and let you know if something sounds delish. If you don’t already read the blog http://www.foodinjars.com, that is a great resource for interesting things. Let me know what you do with all those peaches!

  2. I doubled the recipe and added about 2 cups of candied ginger and 1/3 cup of brandy.

    • Kristi Says:

      I’m trying it tonight! BTW – I found the facebook page for Canning for a New Generation. I asked about peach pie filling and got an immediate response…I’m going to use the Plum pie recipe from the book and modify it for peaches!


Leave a Reply

