Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Two Easy No Cook Appetizers for Summer July 17, 2011

The unbearable, unending, scorching heat, makes me not want to turn my oven on.  Yet, sometimes appetizers are a necessity, whether entertaining at home or going to dinner at a friend’s house.  I’ve had great success lately with two summer appetizers, that are both simple and delicious.

With my recent watermelon harvest, I made these bites, simply by seeding the watermelon, cutting into bite size squares, and topping with a basil leaf and a slice of Pure Luck Feta.

Watermelon Feta Bites

The watermelon is sweet, crisp, and juicy and the feta is salty and creamy, which is a nice contrast.   The basil adds spice for a delicious bite.  You could substitute mint for the basil and it would be amazing, as well. (I stuck little skewers in these for ease of eating.)

I discovered Peppadew Peppers at Antonelli’s Cheese Shop a while back.    These rare peppers (grown only in South Africa) are sweet, pickled, and have little heat.  While delicious on their own, I discovered that they are even more fabulous, stuffed.  The first time I took them to a party, I stuffed them with Rogue Creamery Smokey Blue Cheese, also from Antonelli’s.  They disappeared almost immediately.  So the next time I served them, I decided to experiment with different fillings.  I used the Blue again, but also stuffed some with Dai Due Pimiento Cheese, and some with CKC Farms Jalapeno, Artichoke Chevre.  They all disappeared again.  I think the consensus this time, was that the CKC Chevre complemented the peppers the best.

Stuffed Peppadews

The pickling liquid from these peppers is quite tasty blended with some olive oil and drizzled on a salad, so don’t toss it out.  Happy Summer!

 

 

2 Responses to “Two Easy No Cook Appetizers for Summer”

  1. Crystal Says:

    I LOVE peppadew peppers! I also got some at Antonelli’s. The wonderful woman behind the counter suggested stuffing them with goat cheese and wrapping/topping them with prosciutto. Delicious!


Leave a Reply

