Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

24 Diner – Keeping it Local June 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 6:22 pm
Tags: , ,

Last night I had plans to take a friend to dinner for her birthday, and gave her the option of choosing.  She was in the mood for comfort food, and also wanted to please my desire for locally sourced cuisine, and chose 24  Diner.  (I would have gone anywhere she wanted but I do appreciate her thoughtfulness).  I had not eaten at 24  Diner for quite some time, and never for dinner, so I was happy to try it out again.

What an absolute pleasure in this city to find a place with ample parking, and free at that.  We sat in a sunny half booth half table and ordered wine while we perused the menu.  My friend ordered the Corn Fritters with Jalapeno Remoulade, and they looked delicious.  She reported that they, indeed were delicious.

Corn Fritters

I went back and forth between the entree salads and the Ribeye.  I opted for the Ribeye, sans the potatoes and with a substitution of green beans.  My dinner also came with a side of Swiss Chard and Artichoke Gratin.

Ribeye Dinner

The steak was well seasoned and cooked perfectly.  The green beans were bacony and delicious and the swiss chard gratin was amazingly rich and creamy.    My friend ordered the Veggie burger, and declared it to be the best veggie burger she has ever had.  I wish I had snapped a photo of it, too, but I was trying not to be too obnoxious.  You can substitute a veggie patty for any of the burgers on the menu.  It is made from beets, mushrooms, lentils, rice, pumpkin seeds and golden flax seeds, according to the menu.

We had a great dining experience at 24 Diner, and I will be back again and again.  I was drueling over the Deviled Eggs I kept seeing come out of the kitchen, and the salads looked amazing.  I can see why Bon Appetite just named 24 Diner one of the Top 6 Destination Diners in the U.S. Well deserved.

http://www.bonappetit.com/blogsandforums/blogs/badaily/2011/05/americas-top-6-modern-diners-a.html

 

4 Responses to “24 Diner – Keeping it Local”

  1. Ren Says:

    What a coincidence! I just took a friend to 24 Diner for her birthday night before last. We shared some corn fritters (really good), a lamb burger (also very good) and the chicken & dumplings (not so great).

    Love the emphasis on local foods; we’ll certainly give them another try!

  2. john Says:

    I had those corn fritters this morning. Delicious. Great post.


Leave a Reply

