Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Tomato Takeover! May 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:35 pm
Tags: ,

I am in the midst of the best tomato season I’ve ever had from my garden.  I attribute it to the Texas Pot Method, getting water to the roots of the plants, the harsh and late freezes killing insect pests,  planting really early, and luck.  I’m not going to analyze it too deeply, I’m just trying to enjoy.   They are starting to take over my kitchen window.

Tomatoes!

There are Celebrities, and Early Girls, which are the largest ones.

Celebrities and Early Girls

The Large Red Cherries are perhaps the largest cherry tomatoes I’ve even seen.  The Black Cherries are the small darker ones, and the medium to smallish are the Stupices.

Variety of smaller tomatoes

I have let some ripen on the vine, and have pulled some about a day before the will be ripe, so as not to tempt any of the pests that have left me alone for the first time ever.

I have made Caprese Salad a few times, and Pico de Gallo several times, with my garden onions, peppers and cilantro.

Fresh Pico

I cut them up for salads, in this case Taco Salad.

Taco Salad

I put them in migas for breakfast, and everything else I can think of.  I’ve shared some of this glorious tomato bounty with friends.

Yesterday, I side dressed each of the tomato plants with Rabbit Hill Farms Buds and Blooms, to encourage the plants to keep flowering and setting fruit.  I’m about to have to step up my preserving game here pretty quickly!  Oh how I love the Spring garden.

 

2 Responses to “Tomato Takeover!”

  1. Marc O. Says:

    So glad you’re getting good tomatoes this year. My season is looking way up, too!

  2. Thanks Marc! I’m happy for a good garden this Sprng!


Leave a Reply

