Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Caprese, Pesto, Chicken, Pappardelle Dinner May 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:20 am
Tags: , , , ,

I generally try to keep my starchy carb intake to a minimum.  I am insulin resistant and diabetes runs in my family.  Plus, I just feel so much better when I do.  However, some days I just fail  completely.  I had planned to make caprese salad for dinner with my garden tomatoes and basil.  But, I was hungrier than that, so I started pawing my way through the fridge and freezer.

In the freezer, I found the Basil, Macadamia Nut Pappardelle I had recently purchased from Pasta & Co. at the SFC  farmer’s market downtown.

Pasta

So, I thought I would turn my Caprese salad into hot  Caprese Pasta.  I cubed some Mozzarella, and chiffonaded some garden basil.  (I always try to have pasta on hand, for quick impromptu dinners.  Its fast and easy if you have guests for dinner and no plan.)

Chiffonade of Basil

I popped my ripe but smallish tomatoes into the hot oven with a little olive oil and fleur de sel, to burst them.

Burst Tomatoes

Then I thought some parmesan might be a nice addition to the pasta, so I dug around in the fridge for parm.  While digging, I came across the pesto I had just purchased from Kala’s at the farmer’s market.  It was basil, pine nut pesto.  That sounds good!   Then I remembered that I had leftover roasted chicken from the night before.  Don’t want to waste that!  I cubed up a little chicken, too and gave it a little zap in the microwave to heat it up.   Once the pasta was ready, I threw in the tomatoes, mozz, parm, basil, pesto and chicken, and tossed it all together.

So the end result for my carbtastic dinner, was Basil, Macadamia Nut, Caprese, Pesto, Chicken Pappardelle.  It was worth the carb splurge.

Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

