Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Rabbit, The New White Meat April 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:59 am
Tags: ,

I realize that people have been eating rabbit for centuries.  For me however, they were always pets and it never occurred to me to think of them as food.   So, when I say new, I’m just talking about my experience.

After having rabbit a couple of times recently; rillettes from Kocurek Family Artisinal Charcuterie, Chicken Fried Rabbit, from East Side Show Room, I decided to procure one to cook.  Sebastian, from Countryside Farms, sells rabbit, guinea hens, feral hogs and chickens at the SFC Farmer’s market downtown, so I got one.

I intended to grill it, but the day got away from me, and I didn’t have time to fire up the Big Green Egg.  So, I cut the rabbit into 6 pieces.

Cut Up Rabbit

After seasoning it with salt and pepper, I seared it in a skillet to get the skin crispy and browned.

I cut up a garden onion and layed the slices in the bottom of two Le Crueset oval dishes.  I was surprised at the size of the rabbit, having originally thought it would fit into one.  I tossed in some garden thyme and put it in a 325 degree oven.

While the rabbit was roasting, I made a persillade with my first garden garlic, garden parsley and olive oil.  (Thanks to my friend Mary Margaret for suggesting). Then I picked the first of my tomatoes and sugar snap peas.  The tomatoes a peas just got tossed around in a hot skillet with a bit of olive oil and salt.

And dinner was served.

Rabbit dinner

One thing I enjoy about rabbit, is that it is all white meat.  I love chicken, but don’t really like the leg and thigh, which usually goes into my stock making, with the carcass.  As much as I love stock for soups, it feels a bit wasteful not to eat the whole bird.  So, now that I’ve conquered my first rabbit meal, I think I’ll try to incorporate rabbit into my weekly routine a bit more.  (And this was No Grocery Store, Day 467.)

 

5 Responses to “Rabbit, The New White Meat”

  1. Optimista Says:

    This looks fantastic! And you can give me the leg & the thigh when you make chicken…I am a dark meat girl. 🙂

  2. Thanks Michelle, I’m a rabbit fan now. We need to get together again soon!

  3. Optimista Says:

    Yes, some slow togetherness is in order! Are we going to do Graj Mahal, or did you want to reschedule for a time when others could go?


Leave a Reply

