Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Slow Food Austin Charcuterie and Wine Pairing March 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:54 am

Wednesday night I attended an amazing event put on by Slow Food Austin.  In place of their monthly happy hour, this was a Charcuterie and Wine Pairing, at the lovely Swoop House.  The evening started with with assorted Quiche Tartlets, made by Cake and Spoon.  We chatted, met new people, and sipped Champagne while Chef Larry Kocurek, of Kocurek Family Artisinal Charcuterie prepared the multi-course tasting.

Bubbles are always a good start!

Cake and Spoon Tartlets

The first seated course was Kocurek Czech Blood Sausage on Toasted Baguette.  The Kocureks’ delicious food has opened my food world to things I never would have dared to try, including blood sausage.  It was delicious.

Kocurek Blood Sausage

The next course was Pate de Maison with Parsley Gelee and Pate de Campagne with Tarragon Grain Mustard

Duo of Pates

I have always thought I preferred the Pate de Maison, the smooth pate, but this evening, I really enjoyed the Pate de Campagne with the mustard.

Next up, another dish I would have been reluctant to try a couple of years ago, Pig Head Torchon, Pickled Quail Egg, and Frisee Salad with Mustard Vinaigrette.

Pig Head Torchon

I really enjoyed this dish.  The Torchon was tender and delicious and I couldn’t believe how much flavor that tiny pickled quail egg had.

Next up, was my favorite dish of the night.

Plating the Shrimp Sausage

Divine

Shrimp and Crawfish Sausage on a Bed of Bacon & Leek Ragout with Sauce Charcutier and Sauce Americaine.  This couldn’t have been more beautifully presented, or more delicious.  I was treated to a little sprinkling of Fennel Pollen on mine. Chef Larry wanted me to try it.   The sausage was so flavorful on its own, but the bed of Leek and Bacon Ragout was so delicious I really thought of licking the plate.    My garden is full of leeks currently, and I will be trying to re-create this Ragout as soon as they are ready to be picked.

Dessert was a Chocolate and Bacon Tart, also from Cake and Spoon.  I was full, and am not a big dessert person, so I skipped it.

This was a lovely event, with amazing wines provided from Pioneer Wine.

Delicious vino

 

Leave a Reply

