Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Making Room for More Gardens March 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 12:23 pm
Tags:

Recently I did a post about needing a bigger garden.  I’m not sure that its really a “need” thing, versus a “want” thing.  Every space in each of my gardens is currently occupied with food.  I have onions, garlic, tomatoes, lettuce, snap peas, corn, potatoes, carrots, strawberries and an ever growing parade of fruit trees in pots lining my driveway.  The herbs have plenty of room in pots on my patio.  But, I’d also like to grow picking cucumbers, watermelons, and a whole bunch of different peppers.  And I have have more tomato and pepper seedlings in the greenhouse that will soon need homes.

The only remaining places in my yard with adequate sun, are along the side of my house where the onions are.  That space is mostly occupied by massive decorative shrubbery.

 

Ugly and Inedible

 

The more I grow food, the less I want to water plants I can’t eat.  And, the news every day, is about the rising cost of food.  So, I bought a chainsaw.

 

Chainsaw!

 

There was a secondary purpose for the chainsaw, a neighbor’s pesky Cedar Elm that sheds a huge branch in my yard at least twice a year.  So, I got to work chopping up the Cedar Elm branch, then turned to the non-food shrubs.  I’ve still got lots of work to do, and more pesky shrubs to tackle, but I’m making headway.

 

Space!

I’ll probably need to have these stumps ground, and have already called a service to haul off my mess.  Hopefully, here before too long I will have a couple more working gardens to increase my food production.  Until then, I think the side of the house looks tidier and cleaner without those shrubs, and I’m glad they are gone.  If I include any non-edible plants in my new landscape, I’d at least like for them to be pretty.   Perhaps some of the fruit trees can go here.  Happy gardening! Grow some food, it will make you happy.

 

 

5 Responses to “Making Room for More Gardens”

  1. That sure did open up a lot of space for more food. We too are converting previous underused/unused space and making it all about the food. It’s a trend I like to see catching on!

  2. Marc O. Says:

    The “ugly and inedible” comment made me chuckle! Good work on those bushes. I did that to some ligustrum I used to have, as well as some yaupon meatball sculptures the former owner had left us.

    I’m struggling to find more sunny space. Is cutting down my neighbor’s ugly and inedible palm trees kosher? I’d have far more sun.

    • Once I determined the bushes on the side ugly and inedible, my whole lawn looks different to me. I’m thinking the palm trees need to go! I’m about to declare war on my neighbor’s cedar elm that keep losing its major branches in my yard. Hard to believe they never seem to notice.

      • Marc O. Says:

        At least a cedar elm is a solid native… even if the one YOU contend with isn’t so solid. Palm trees? Definitely ugly, inedible and non-native.


Leave a Reply

