Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Steak Two Ways – Low Carbs for Lent March 10, 2011

I have always felt better when I eat very little wheat, complex carbohydrates like things made with flour, bread, flour tortillas, and sugar, corn and potatoes.  I think rice doesn’t bother me as much, but I love it, so I’m prone to eat too much.  I like all the white foods, however I find that eating them makes my joints hurt and I don’t sleep as well.  I don’t crave sugar, but I do crave the starches like crazy.  Once I get them out of my system, after 3-5 days, the cravings subside.

I’ve eaten way too much bread and pizza crust in the last few months, so for Lent, although I’m not Catholic, I’ve decided to give up carbs.   I will miss them, but I will feel better for it, and maybe get off my carb addicted track.

So, last night for dinner, I grilled a Richardson Farms Ribeye, on the Big Green Egg.  I sauteed Kitchen Pride mushrooms in Way Back When butter, my garden thyme with Spring onions from Smithfield Farms, and white wine.  I plucked some lettuce from the garden, chopped up a hydroponic tomato from the farmer’s market, and made a simple salad dressing with Roquefort from Antonelli’s Cheese and Way Back When cream.

 

Ribeye Dinner

 

No, I did not eat that whole steak, it was huge.  Leftovers soon.

So, my second night of low carb eating, was a variation on the same theme.

I had a package of 2 Thunderheart Bison Tenderloin Filets.  I’m a grill girl, but I decided to cook these classic style.  I heated up a cast iron skillet, until screaming hot, salted, peppers the steaks and seared the quickly on both sides.  Then, I put them in a 400 degree convection oven, in the skillet.  I chopped some Springfield Farms Spring Onions, Kitchen Pride Mushrooms, and sauteed them in Way Back When butter.

I was excited to break out my Staub baby sautee pan.  It is tiny, but perfect for my Roquefort and Reduced Cream Sauce for the steak.

 

Beginnings of Roquefort Cream Sauce

 

I sauteed some spinach until barely wilted, plated that, pulled out the rested beef and sliced it, topped it with mushroom/onion mixture, then drizzled the whole plate with roquefort cream and a fresh parsley garnish.

 

Bison Tender Dinner

I cooked the bison longer than I meant to, leaving it medium well.  I don’t mind sharing my mistakes, I got caught up on email and left it in a tad to long.  Meat keeps cooking when removed from its heat source, and I let it rest for a while.  It still was delicious.  I was eyeing the second steak for a sliced beef sandwich tomorrow.   Then, I remembered my no carb deal, so it will have to be a bison, lettuce salad.  Still delicious!

 

 

 

One Response to “Steak Two Ways – Low Carbs for Lent”

  1. […] Steak Two Ways – Low Carbs for Lent « Austin Urban Gardens So, my second night of low carb eating, was a variation on the same theme. I had a package of 2 Thunderheart Bison Tenderloin Filets. I'm a grill girl, but I decided to cook these classic style. I heated up a cast iron skillet, […]


Leave a Reply

