Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 423 – No Mystery Meat February 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:51 pm
Tags: ,

I finally tackled my hoarding issue, and cleaned out my fridge.  The hoarding in the beginning of my No Grocery Store Challenge, was due to fear 1) running out of food and 2) not having a wide enough variety  since I could only shop twice a week.  As time went on, and I got more comfortable with not being able to run out and get whatever I wanted, I started stocking up on things that sounded delicious, out of fear that the producer wouldn’t make the desired item again.  Anyhoo, I hoarded food, and my freezer needed an overhaul.  I’ll go ahead and shame myself into change by showing you:

 

Over stuffed freezer

 

So, today, I pulled everything out, cleaned it and got rid of some stuff I didn’t need – produce I had frozen for stock making; fruit from when it was in season, some old pecans, and some cooked food from who knows when.

 

Newly organized freezer

 

Now I know what I have, and where it is.  I also know that there is no reason for my to buy protein again for at least a month.  The outdoor freezer has the bigger stuff, brisket, whole chicken.

During my overhaul, I found a package of  Dai Due Frankfurters, made with Richardson Farms pork and no mystery ingredients.  So for lunch, I had a no mystery hot dog, on Barrie’s Ciabatta, with Dai Due Mustard, Full Quiver Cheddar, and half of one of my own dill pickles.

 

No Mystery Hot Dog

 

 

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 423 – No Mystery Meat”

  1. Claudia A Says:

    Congrats on cleaning out the freezer 🙂
    Love the no mystery hot dog!

  2. Thanks! Looking forward to Friday!


Leave a Reply

