Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Vegetable Planting Guide for March, Austin, Zone 8 February 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:38 am
Tags:

March is a big planting month!  I’m seeing tomato plants fly off the shelves at the local nurseries, and hoping folks are not putting them in the ground just yet, although I have spoken with some folks who are risking it.   We normally don’t plant tomatoes until after the last average frost date, March 15. Tomatoes don’t like the cool nights.

EARLY MARCH FROM SEED

Beets, chard, collards, lettuce, mustard, peas, radishes, beans, endive, potatoes

EARLY MARCH TRANSPLANTS

Broccoli, chard, collards, endive, lettuce, mustard, onions, asparagus crowns

LATE MARCH FROM SEED

Lima beans, snap beans, beets, cantaloupe, chard, collards, corn, cucumbers, eggplants, lettuce, black-eye peas, pumpkin, radishes, watermelon, summer squash, New Zealand Spinach

LATE MARCH TRANSPLANTS

Peppers, Tomatoes, Tomatillos

Herbs – All of the herbs can be planted mid-March.  Cilantro hates the heat and will bolt, so I’ve already planted cilantro and will keep it in a sunny but cooler spot out of full sun.

 

5 Responses to “Vegetable Planting Guide for March, Austin, Zone 8”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kristi Willis, Austin Urban Gardens. Austin Urban Gardens said: Vegetable Planting Guide for March, Austin Zone 8 [New Post] http://wp.me/po5VL-QF […]

  2. Meredith Says:

    Thanks so much. Just moved to Austin, and I’ve been pretty confused about when to start planting. This clears it up for me.

    • Good, I’m so glad to have been of help, Meredith. I do a planting guide at the end of each month, for the following month and try to stay on top of plant sales and gardening events. It helps me to stay on track as well!

  3. Rick Says:

    Be sure to take into account your specific location within the county. KXAN’s weather blog just posted today the average frost dates for around the area, and I discovered that the long-term average frost date for Camp Mabry – which is close to my home – is February 23! That means I’m already a week past the average last frost date and the 10 day forecast shows clear skies and 75/45 days. I feel pretty sure I won’t get hit with a freeze in my location but the question is do I put the tomatoes and watermelon out? Will 45 hurt them or stunt their growth? Hmm.
    P.S. the link is http://blogs.kxan.com/2011/03/01/average-last-freeze-dates/

    • Hey Rick, I am just blocks from Mabry, as well and that is my benchmark. Typically, it isn’t recommended to set tomatoes out until after the 15th, because they really hate temps near and below 45. I replanted mine in 6 inch pots and stuck them in the greenhouse. Natural Gardener has theirs planted with 6 inch pots in the ground (bottoms cut out) to protect them from wind and for ease in covering. I’m not putting mine out for a bit yet.


Leave a Reply

