Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Cold Weather Cooking, and Freeze Warning February 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 12:08 am

I have what I think is a combination cold, plus allergies. I can’t figure it out.  But, on this the first of several record breaking cold days to come, I spent a great deal of time outside, trying to protect my beloved onions, garlic, strawberries and leeks.  Everything else can be replanted and grown in no time – these are the slow growers and they need protection to make it through the cold.

So, I covered everything, then covered the onions, garlic and strawberries with a second layer, then eventually, put full on blankets over the onions and garlic.

To comfort my frazzled, freeze gardened nerves, I drank my lunch.  Not what you think, I defrosted homemade chicken broth and made tortilla soup, with farmer’s market tomato and onions, and blue corn tortillas from the Triangle Farmer’s market.

For dinner, I was anxiously awaiting the Dai Due Gumbo that I got on Saturday, and froze.  It was delicious over Lowell Farms Jasmine Rice.

Gumbo dinner

Next, I decided to make breakfast for the next few days.  So I chopped up some farmer’s market green onions, with some Kocurek Czech bacon, threw in some Smith and Smith Farms eggs, and a couple of gifted eggs, then poured that over the onion mixture.  I grated half a pound of white cheddar from Full Quiver, to top it all off.

Quick Quiche, sort of

Local Quiche Lorraine, sort of

 

One Response to “Cold Weather Cooking, and Freeze Warning”

  1. Mmmm. Looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

