Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Pre-Massive Freeze Harvest and Harvest Dinner January 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:49 pm
Tags: ,

Yikes, I had to make some sacrifices in the garden today, not knowing how my spot of Earth will fare in potential 16 degree weather, which is a first around here, since I’ve lived here.  My urban home is fairly sheltered by other buildings and my big garden gets some additional shelter, having been built too close to the garage.

But, with reports of record low temperatures, I had to decide what I was willing to risk and what I wasn’t.  I have covered the Leek bed, the onion and garlic beds and the strawberries.  I harvested broccoli, and lots of lettuce and covered the rest, but not as carefully as the more treasured plants are covered.  I mostly harvested for the upcoming week, because it will be horrible gardening weather.

Pre-freeze harvest

So for dinner, I had Dai Due Chicken and Bacon sausage, with fresh broccoli and a large salad from the huge amount of lettuce I harvested.  That will be the last of the broccoli until another season.  Fortunately, I have enough  left for eating this week.  A nice addition to my salad was some gifted avocados.

Dai Due Chicken sausage, broccoli, and salad

Please keep reading and let me know how all of your gardens do in this crazy freeze.

 

2 Responses to “Pre-Massive Freeze Harvest and Harvest Dinner”

  1. Claudia A Says:

    On your advice I will cover the lettuce, onions and leeks too. I think I’ll cover the root crops lightly too, but somehow think the brassicas will be OK. I have a broccoli that needs eating anyway so I’m picking that soon. Should I cover the peas?

  2. I honestly don’t know what plants are hearty down to 16 degrees. I would cover everything, I did.


Leave a Reply

