Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Lazy Paella January 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:31 pm
Tags: , , ,

I was totally unspired to cook tonight, after over scheduling myself the last few days.  But, I had fresh shrimp and grouper in the fridge from San Miguel Seafood at the market Saturday, and certainly didn’t want it to go to waste.  But, the thought of standing over a hot stove, in my lazy state, didn’t appeal to me.  So, finally at around 6:30 I figured out what I would do.  Paella, but in the oven, so I didn’t have to tend to it and stir for a long time.  So, into my favorite fig colored Emile Henry pot, I put 1 1/2 cups Lowell Farms Jasmine rice, about 6 peeled and deveined shrimp, the grouper filet, cut into chunks, a chopped tomato, a chopped jalapeno both from the farmer’s market, smoked salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and a large pinch of saffron.  I defrosted a little over 3 cups of homemade chicken stock and poured that over the rice mixture, covered it and stuck it in the oven for an hour on 400.

I used to do this with chicken tenders, so I was fairly sure it would work.  After an hour, I pulled it out of the oven.

 

Baked Seafood Paella

 

It would have been better with garlic and an onion, and a bit more saffron, but I had no garlic or onion and saffron is tricky – too much and you get a soapy taste, rather than the delicate saffron flavor.  Had I had more jalapeno, that would have been good too, but I didn’t.

So, for dinner, I had Paella, sort of, and it was good.  I was too lazy to even make a salad to go with it.

 

Dinner

I did manage to get some parsley for garnish on it, because the parsley is in a pot right outside the back door.  And with the Emile Henry dish, cleanup was a breeze, so I got to keep being lazy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

