Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Sometimes Simple is Best – Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup January 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

It has been so cold and I’m still off kilter from spending two weeks out of my normal realm, and in the hospital with my dad, then at my parents house, that I needed some home style grounding today.  I was inspired by my friend Kristi‘s post this morning about Bison Short Rib Borscht, although not nearly that ambitious.  I roasted a Smith and Smith Farms chicken last week for my visiting aunt, mom, and me, and reserved and froze the carcass with quite a bit of leftover meat on it.  When I got home at around 3:30, I pulled it from the freezer and stuffed it in a pot of water, chopped carrots and onions from the farmer’s market, garden thyme, sage, bay, salt and pepper and let it boil on high for a few hours, before turning it down to simmer for the last hour.

Making Stock

When I was finally ready to eat, I strained out the bones and herbs and whatnot, and let the stock drain into a bowl, then I returned it to the pot, with some of the obvious pieces of chicken.    I broke off a handful of Sweetish Hill‘s dried Stone Ground Whole Wheat Spinach Basil Garlic Pasta and tossed that in.  The ingredients of the pasta are, semolina, stone ground whole wheat flour, spinach, basil, garlic, spices and olive oil.    I poured the soup into the bowl, topped with some of my garden parsley, and a grating of some Dante Cheese from Antonelli’s Cheese Shop.

The result was a hearty, yet light bowl of delicious soup, with no mystery ingredients, no shelf life, and at least a fourth of the sodium that a can of store bought soup would have.  And it tasted so much better.

MMM Good Soup

Well cooked pasta, not mushy noodles

I know people think they are too busy to make stock.   I roasted this chicken a week ago, and stuck the carcass in my freezer.  I literally stuck it in a pot of water with some garden herbs and vegetables and left it to simmer for hours.  I cleaned the house, I ran errands.  I did not tend to it until it was time to strain it, which took no work at all, just a strainer and bowl.  And the flavor was so much better than stock in a box or can.

About the Dante Cheese.  This was one of my gift Cheeses from the Antonelli’s after my no grocery store challenge officially ended. (Or did it?)   This is a Wisconsin Sheep Dairy Coop cheese, and it was slightly dry and nutty.  I thought it would complement the pasta and add a bit of depth to the soup.  And it was delicious on its own, and in the soup as well.  I might go have another bite.

Just for grins, I looked up the ingredients in Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup, which I grew up eating.  Here is what I found:

Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup

  • in 2 reviews
  • Made by Campbell Soup Company show contact info
  • Ingredients

    Chicken Stock, Cooked Enriched Egg Noodles (Wheat Flour, Whole Egg, Egg Whites, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)Cooked Chicken Meat, contains Less than 2% of the Following: Water, Modified Wheat Starch, Salt, Chicken Fat, Monosodium Glutamate, Dehydrated Cooked Chicken, Onion Powder, Spice Extract, Modified Food Starch, Yeast Extract, Beta Carotene for Color, Soy Protein Isolate, Sodium Phosphates, Chicken Flavor (contains Chicken Stock, Chicken Powder, Chicken Fat)Dehydrated Garlic, Soybean Oil, Soy Lecithin, Mono and Diglycerides, Mixed Tocopherols (to Protect Flavor)Ascorbic Acid for Flavor, Flavoring.

 

Leave a Reply

