Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

New Posts Soon January 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:17 am

Hi folks!  I’m a bit behind in posting.   I’ve been staying at my mom’s house while my dad is still in the hospital, and haven’t gardened or cooked much.  I haven’t been to the grocery store either, but did get a great haul from the farmer’s markets this week.  Hopefully, we’ll get dad moved home today, and I can get caught up here in a day or two.

Sorry for the delay.

Love, me

 

3 Responses to “New Posts Soon”

  1. Paty Says:

    Hi!
    I was just catching up on your blog and found a reference to your reduction in trash due to less packaging and, of course, composting. We have found a reduction in trash as well and an increase in what we can compost. Our problem, however, has been that we eat so much fresh produce that our compost bin can’t handle it. We are thinking about adding a second compost bin (we got our first one from the Natural Gardener) but suspect that we might need a third, maybe even a fourth and that gets expensive. We have considered an open compost bin but do not want to attract rodents as we have done this before and they invaded our shed. Do you have any suggestions? How do you handle it? Thank you!!

    • cscrown@swbell.net Says:

      Hi Paty, I have an open compost pile, into which I bury food scraps pretty deeply. I try to put coffee grounds on top of the fresh scraps before burying them to disguise the smell. I also have a bin that gets air for scraps, and an enclosed trash can that a friend delivers scraps to weekly. Sometimes my freshly buried scraps get dug up, but I haven’t noticed rodent problem besides that. I too, and in the process of figuring out a better plan. Let me know if you come up with one! Thanks. Carla


Leave a Reply

