Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

La Vida Local January 9, 2011

I’ve grown tired of calling my posts “No Grocery Store, Day 147” etc.    I’m struggling to  keep this blog interesting, and with all the new folks interested in my eating locally.

I’ve eaten out a lot the last few days and nights with my dad in the hospital.  I tried to eat local wherever possible, and avoided hospital food, except for a couple of chicken salad sandwiches.

I had a great day at the SFC Farmer’s Market on Wednesday at the Triangle, and yesterday downtown.  I gave a couple of tours, and I think the folks enjoyed themselves, bought some good food and will be back.

Here is my haul for the week:

Farmer's Market Haul

Richardson’s Farm pork chops, CKC herbed chevre, Way Back When butter and cream, Kocurek Family Czech Bacon, Thunderheart Bison Tenderloins, Full Quiver Cheddar, Smith and Smith Farms chicken, (6 pounds!) Springfield Farms Carrots and Spinach, Tangerines and Tangelos.

What more could you want?  I have a garden full of lettuce, broccoli and some cabbage.  I’m all set!

 

 

2 Responses to “La Vida Local”

  1. Carly Says:

    Just read this article on you: http://www.takepart.com/news/2011/01/05/why-one-woman-quit-grocery-stores-for-a-year

    I too have watched Food Inc, Food Matters and The Beautiful Truth and is grossed out by the quality of our food. I have had some health issues, but cutting out all process foods has helped a ton! Continuing on my baby steps, I loved the idea of never going to a Grocery Story. It does take planning and I am hoping to get there sooner than later…

    I just wanted to say thanks for getting your message out. I feel like how I feel about is so WEIRD and different from so many people. It’s nice to read about people that feel the same way I do.

    Healthy eating,

    Carly

    • Hi Carly, thanks for the comment, I appreciate comments very much. People might think I’m weird for eating whole food, rather than processed, but maybe they will figure it out too. I love not having to read labels, because none of my food has “ingredients”, except locally made bread and pasta. Keep up the good work!
      Carla C.


Leave a Reply

