Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Almost There December 31, 2010

The end of my No Grocery Store Challenge year, is not going to happen as planned.  I had hoped to prepare some elaborate meals to celebrate all the local wonderful food I’ve discovered in a year, but my dad’s hip replacement failed and he had surgery yesterday, so things are happening differently.  So:

Wednesday, I missed breakfast, had leftovers from my wonderful meal Tuesday night, for lunch and for dinner I got takeout from Cafe Josie.  Dad wanted seafood to be his last meal pre-hospital, and so we obliged.  My mom, aunt and I went to Cafe Josie, ordered a glass of wine and crab cake appetizer while we waited for our dinner.  I had the pepita redfish, my favorite dish there.

I had picked up some hydroponic strawberries at the Wednesday Farmer’s Market at the Triangle, and had big plans to eat well while at Seton.  So for breakfast Thursday, I had strawberries and they were delicious.  My plans to go home and make a sandwich at lunch didn’t happen, and we all walked across the street to Santa Rita for lunch.  I had shrimp tacos.   After 15 hours in the hospital, I was exhausted.  I did manage to make a sandwich for dinner.  Barrie Cullinan’s amazing ciabatta bread from Antonelli’s Cheese Shop, Kocurek Czech Bacon, Milagro Farms Tomato, my garden lettuce, and Full Quiver Cheddar.  It was the perfect end to a really long day.

 

BLT

 

 

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Almost There”

  1. Bill Says:

    Congrats! You made it. It has been a very fun and interesting journey. I have really enjoyed sharing it thru your posts. Your commitment and effort have been inspiring.

    Hope your Dad gets better soon.

  2. Thanks for coming along for the ride Bill, you are sweet. It has been quite an experience. I’m looking forward to discovering lots of new local food in 2011. No big grocery store plans. 🙂
    Thanks for the well wishes for Dad, he is on the mend. Having a relative in he hospital is exhausting, however.


Leave a Reply

