Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Christmas Eve and Day December 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:47 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, Christmas Eve, and one week before my year without shopping is over.  Crazy.  I was out and about, taking my mom on errands and we landed at Polvo’s for lunch.  She hasn’t been eating, unless its Mexican food, which always does the trick.  I had chicken enchiladas.   Around 12:30, when I got home, I started making the chili for our traditional South Texas Christmas Eve. (I grew up in Corpus and the folks moved here 3 years ago).  So, I browned 2 pounds of Richardson Farms chili beef, and tossed it into a pot with some onions, 1 bottle of Shiner Octoberfest beer, and a quart of beef stock I had made and frozen.  I seasoned it with Chili 3000 from Penzy’s, cumin from Savory Spice on 6th, and half a jar of Chipotles in Adobo from Dai Due, for smokey depth.  I chopped about 10 tomatoes from Milagro Farms.  I also cut up some serranos and a jalapeno from by garden, both surely frozen after last night.  I let the chili simmer for 4-5 hours, and for dinner we had some tamales from my Tamalada and chili, topped with Full Quiver Cheddar.  Very soon, I’d like to make a more traditional chili, with chuck roast and no tomatoes, but I had hoarded these end of season tomatoes and needed to use them.  It was actually quite good.

MMM Chili

Christmas Day, I skipped breakfast, having to move half of my kitchen, food, and presents to my parents’ house.  I started making our Christmas dinner around 10:00.  We had  Richardson Farm’s Beef Ribs, braised for hours in red wine, garden thyme, and garden bay leaf.  While those were braising, I thinly sliced a bunch of Boggy Creek Farms red potatoes, and layered them in a baking pan with butter, Full Quiver Cheddar, salt and pepper, then once I had several layers, poured in some cream.   Those baked for about an hour.  Next I cut up some Boggy Creek Farm Carrots, an onion from my parents house, and roasted those tossed in olive oil.  I also roasted some garden broccoli.   So, lunch was braised short ribs, scalloped potatoes, roasted vegetables, and broccoli.  Dessert was pecan pie from Cake and Spoon, which I picked up at the Triangle Farmer’s Market on Wednesday.   We ate around 2:00, and for dinner that night, I just snacked on a Full Quiver cheese ball, and some cookies brought by friends.

I hope you all had a marvelous Christmas!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Christmas Eve and Day”

  1. Bill Says:

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Bill!


Leave a Reply

