Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store – Christmas week December 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:12 am
Tags: ,

Wednesday I didn’t manage breakfast, and for lunch while running around, shopping for gifts, I stopped at Sweetish Hill for  a Chicken little, which is a mini chicken salad sandwich.  Dinner was BBQ brisket, beans and potato salad at an office party.

Thursday, I was up and out early, and on my way to the Barton Creek Farmer’s market, I stopped at Taco Deli and had a Migas taco and the Otto, black been puree, bacon and avocado.  Lunchtime and most of the afternoon was spent at Seton, getting the pre-op stuff done for my dad, and renting wheelchairs and whatnot.  I had dinner with a friend at Foreign and Domestic.  This was my first time eating there, and it was beyond amazing.   We started with popovers, huge light airy popovers, the crispy beef tounge appetizer, and the squash fritters.  I ordered the fish dish, which was different from the menu, and was trout with chive spaetzle, cauliflower, trumpets and grape and balsamic broth.  It was stunning.  I also had a taste of the waygu steak which was delicious as well.  We split the carrot cake sundae and it, too was delicious. I can’t wait to go back, it was crazy good.

Cooking starts Friday, and I’m cooking a local Christmas meal and looking forward to getting myself back in the kitchen.  I’m going to have a new challenge for the last week of my No Grocery Store Challenge, since I’ll be at the hospital for most of my meal times for several days of the year.  Yikes.

 

Leave a Reply

