Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Last Day of Edible Austin’s Eat Local Week! December 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:03 am

There have been great activities all week, but sadly, today is the end of Edible Austin’s  Eat Local Week.  You still have time to participate starting off at the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown, there will be a Celebrity Cook-off between Addie Broyles of the Austin American Statesman and Nik Ciccone of Fox 7 News.  The cook-off will be judged by none other than Jack Gilmore of Jack Allen’s Kitchen.  Snack on a Bola Pizza while watching the action.  Next up, is the Texas Craft Brewer’s Festival at Black Star Co-op from 2:00 – 5:00.

Come on down to the Farmer’s Market and support local food!

 

6 Responses to “Last Day of Edible Austin’s Eat Local Week!”

  1. Cecilia Says:

    Bryan Beck from KGSR-FM (my brother from another mother) is also judging the competition. He won last year.

  2. Hey met you at the Kocurek’s Venison Butchery class…great blog! I love all the info. It was really great meeting you that day! I’m planning to go back & read your “No Grocery Store” series as far back as I can…very cool undertaking! I admire that. I wish we had run into you today out at the Farmer’s Market. I saw Bola Pizza out there looked like they were doing well. Looked very good, too. Hope to see you out there some time soon! Take care & have a fabulous Christmas! Hope your parents are both doing better soon, you’ll be in my thoughts & prayers.

    Love & peace,
    Michelle Norris

    • Thank you, it was great meeting you guys too. Sorry I missed you at the market, I had to leave early yesterday. I’m usually there the whole time, delivering pizzas for Bola and sometimes filling in for vendors or at the Taste the Place tent. I’ll keep an eye out for you next week and give you a tour of my favorite farmer’s market finds, if you’d like.

      • Sounds great! Hope we run into you down there! By chance, were you at Foreign & Domestic last Thursday evening sitting at the dinner bar? We wanted to say something to you but you were with someone & we didn’t want to disturb you. At least, we were pretty sure it was you! Hope you had a fabulous Christmas!

        Michelle

      • Hey Michelle, Yes that was me! Don’t ever hesitate to say something, I’m always glad to see folks. My food was outstanding, and I can’t believe it was my first time there. I will be back lots. Did you guys like yours? Hope to see you soon. Happy New Years !
        Carla


Leave a Reply

