Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 352 December 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:31 am
Tags: , ,

This week has been hectic, as the holidays always are.  It”s Edible Austin’s Eat Local week which brings a variety of events every day, and on top of that, neither of my folks are driving right now, so I’ve been running here and there taking them where they need to go.

Anyhoo, Day 352, my bad habits have returned, and I missed breakfast.   I took mom to lunch at a new spot on South Congress, Hopdoddy.  It is an adult burger joint, with a full bar.  We each had a poblano burger with fries.  The burger was really quite good, on a home baked bun with fresh veggies.  The sign on the wall says the restaurant supports local farmers, although the menu did not say where anything came from, so I can’t say what was local.  The french fries were oddly dry and sort of hollow.  Perhaps some tweaking is in order.   I headed down to City Hall for Edible Austin’s Eat Local Week, Better Bites Holiday Fair.  I ended up staying to help out and got home a bit too late to cook dinner, so I broke out some tamales from our Sunday tamalada.  And that was dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

