Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Roasting Poblano Peppers December 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 12:45 am
Tags: , , ,

On Sunday, I’ll be making green chile pork tamales.  A few foodie friends are coming over with their own varieties of filling, and we will spend the afternoon assembling tamales, steaming them, and then chowing down.  There might be a beer or glass of wine consumed during the day as well.  At the end of the evening, everyone will get to take away their own, and each other’s tamales for the holidays.  I had decided on green chile pork, because I thought pork shoulder would be easy to get from Richardson Farms.  Not so, I tried to order some 2 weeks ago, but the Austin restaurants have it all spoken for.  Fortunately, I found another pork vendor at the farmer’s market downtown and secured 6 pounds of pork shoulder from LaGrange Smokehouse.  Contrary to the name, it has not been smoked or cooked in any fashion.

I was excited to find poblano peppers from Johnson’s Backyard Garden at the Triangle Farmer’s Market. this Wednesday.   I thought they would make a great addition to my green chile pork, so I bought a bag.  I roasted them over the gas stove:

Roasting poblanos

Almost done

The goal is to get every bit of skin charred, and get it all off of the inside meat of the peppers.

So, after they are all roasted and charred, they go in a bowl covered with a plastic bag, (or foil or plastic wrap) to steam.  This makes the skins even easier to get off.

Ready to be Covered

I covered the lot of them, and went to dinner.  When I got home they were cooled and ready to be processed.  So, under running tap water, I peeled and rinsed off the charred skins.  I then de-seeded and pulled out the vein inside the pepper, because it is uber hot.

Then I sliced them up for use on Sunday in tamales.

Sliced, roasted poblanos

I could have run up to Randall’s about 5 blocks from my house and grabbed some canned chiles, except for that fateful pledge.  In the end, I am happier having done them my self, because I know where they were grown, how they were grown, and they have much more flavor and texture than the mushy canned variety.   I can’t wait to incorporate them into tamales on Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

