Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 339 – Thanksgiving November 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:38 am
Tags: ,

I’ve been dreading this post.  My fantasy, home cooked, all locally sourced Thanksgiving would have been as follows:

Turkey – Fresh from Richardson Farms

Sweet Potatoes – Boggy Creek Farms

New Potatoes (for mash) -Boggy Creek Farms

All the greens – Boggy Creek Farms

Green beans  – JBG, Triangle Farmer’s Market

Cranberry Jelly – Confituras (done!)

Pecan Pie/Apple pie from Boggy Creek Farms – I did buy one of each of these

But, Thankgiving was not my decision this year.  It was decided by my relatives that Thanksgiving would be catered, to ease up on the stress to my mom, of having lots of company for a meal.    So that’s what happened.  Standard fare, turkey, ham, green beans, potatoes, rolls and all the pies.  I brought a sour cream apple pie that I picked up from Boggy Creek Farm, hoping to add a local  element  to the whole event, and we had Confituras Cranberry Jalapeno jam with the rolls.

For dinner Thanksgiving night, I brought home some leftover turkey.  I had some mushrooms that needed cooking, so I sauteed those with green onions from the farmer’s market.  I tossed in the chopped turkey, and some Full Quiver Neufchatel, cooked some pasta from the farmer’s market that I had in the freezer, and called it Tetrazzini.  It was not as good as I had imagined it would be, but I got to do my little carb dance afterward.  The Carb dance helps in the inevitable carb give up that will come on Sunday.

I realized when I went to Boggy Creek Farm, the morning before Thanksgiving, that the traditional meal we all celebrate with, in some form or another, is all based on seasonal ingredients.  Duh, right?  I had never given any thought to why the green bean casserole is on every table, pies are made from pumpkins and pecans, sweet potatoes are always on the tables, covered in marshmallows or not.  Everything on the Thanksgiving table, (sans marshmallows) is in season right now!  Pumpkins are a little past prime at the moment, in our Southern regions, but everything is spot on, in season.  Even though I didn’t get to create the locally sourced meal of my dreams for Thanksgiving,  I still got to celebrate the localness of it, if merely in my realization that Thanksgiving is a celebration of the season.   And my mom enjoyed the visit from her relatives with as little stress as possible, and I am thankful for that.

 

3 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 339 – Thanksgiving”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I’m so glad you got to spend some time with your family. I feel your pain about having the non-local, catered meal, though. That’s a bummer, especially considering how great you’ve been eating. 🙂


Leave a Reply

