Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

When Life Hands You Lemons, Make them Last! November 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:39 pm
Tags: ,

I have one Meyer Lemon tree in a pot on my driveway.  It has not been given the best living conditions (my bad) but manages to reward me nonetheless with some amazing, and huge lemons.

 

Harvested Meyer Lemons

 

I am not a person who loves sweet dishes, so in order to make the best of my lemon harvest, in a savory way, I decided to preserve them.  This is a simple process, and in my case required Kosher Salt, a shallot, a clove of garlic, some garden herbs and some jars.

The salt, shallot, garlic mixture, ready for layering.

 

Garlic and Shallot mince

Salt mixture

I sliced the lemons.

 

 

Sliced lemons

 

Then, I layered the lemons and salt/garlic/shallot mixture in a jar.  I decided to add some garden herbs since I’m going for savory, might as well add some complimentary flavors to the mix.

 

Layering Lemons and salt mixture

 

The end result is a jar of Lemon with Thyme, Lemon with Rosemary and Plain Lemon.

 

End result

After 6 weeks in the refrigerator, the salt will have cured the lemons, and the end result will be a flavorful addition to soups, stews, as a part of salad dressings, and stuffed under the skin of roasting chickens, for a massive flavor bomb.   I’m excited to see how else I can use them.

 

 

3 Responses to “When Life Hands You Lemons, Make them Last!”

  1. Bill Says:

    Do you have yo refrigerate? They looks so cool sitting out on the counter. Very creative!

  2. I didn’t even think about it, I just stuck them in the fridge. I put the herbs in to make them pretty at first, then I realized they were classic flavor combinations, so why not?


Leave a Reply

