Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Days 333 and 334 November 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

Friday, I managed some fresh squeezed tangerine juice for breakfast.  After work, I picked mom up for lunch and the Junior League’s Christmas Affair Shopping.  We ended up at Little Mexico for lunch, after a failed parking attempt at Polvo’s.  I had two tacos, a la carte.  The Christmas Affair was packed, on Friday at 1:00, so I can’t imagine what it was like yesterday.  We took the bus from Barton Creek.  I did manage to find Delysia Chocolates, and got some chocolate gift boxes, which was one goal.    After that adventure we decided against Friday night dinner out, and I ended up at a friend’s house for some amazingly good pasta with bison meatballs.

Saturday, the first day of Dai Due’s return to the farmer’s market with hot food, and I was in line half an hour before the market opened.  The hungry masses all ordered the famed Sausage, Biscuit with gravy.  Not me, I had the Duck Egg, and Boar Chorizo Torta with salsa.

 

Boar Chorizo, duck egg torta

 

This picture doesn’t do the dish justice.  It is a messy pile of goodness on a soft, toasted roll.  Trust me.  The return of hot food to the farmer’s market was a big deal, after the city yanked the permit several months ago.  The people responded to the hot food return by showing up and waiting in line.

 

Line for Dai Due Hot Breakfast

 

Worth the wait.  In exciting new hot food news, if everything goes well with the permit folks this week, Bola Pizza will be at the SFC Market Downtown 11/27 with wood-fired pizzas.  Rumor has it this will include a breakfast pizza which sounds divine.  I’ll post an update later in the week.

After that for breakfast, lunch was not a possibility.  For dinner, I had a garden salad with my homegrown lettuce, farmer’s market tomato and cucumber, and Texas Olive Ranch Olive Oil and Vinegar, and a Kocurek Smoked Pork Pie.

 

Leave a Reply

