Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Give the Gift of Local This Holiday Season November 21, 2010

This has been such an exciting year for local food in Austin.   So much has happened!  As I was walking around the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown this morning, I was marveling at all of the local treats available, besides the expected produce, dairy, cheese,  charcuterie, grassfed beef, bison, chicken and pork.  It occurred to me that this would be a great place to do your holiday gift shopping.  I have already been hoarding Confituras‘ seasonal preserves for gifts.  She has some packaged as gifts as well.

Gift wrapped preserves

Thunderheart Bison also has amazing honey, and bison leather goods.  I have a bison purse, duffle bag, and last year I gave bison wallets as gifts.

Bison Leather goods

Amazing honey!

Got a million holiday parties on the schedule?  Pate makes the perfect hostess gift.

Kocurek Family Charcuterie

South Austin Soap People has gift boxed sets of their locally made soap products.

South Austin Soap People Gift Set

I noticed gift sets of olive oil and vinegar at Texas Olive Ranch as well.

Texas Olive Ranch

I love this local olive oil, and quirky label is fun and festive.  Texas Olive Ranch has some amazing flavored balsamics as well.  I particularly like the fig.

Texas Olive Ranch

Then there’s chocolate!  Highly acclaimed chocolate at that.

Chocolate, of course

Chocolate in several forms

Coco Puro Kakawa Chocolates were named in Saveur Magazine as one of the top 100 favorite foods from around the world. (2006)   Word.   These are cocoa beans dipped in chocolate and pack a real, and delicious chocolate punch.  He had a big crowd, so I couldn’t get the full scoop, but I thought I saw chocolate bars as well.

If you are like me, and always have a stocking for your pet, the farmer’s market has the doggies covered too, with Paw Bakery.

Treats for the pup

CKC Cheese has some wonderful seasoned marinated feta, that would be perfect in a gift basket, as it is shelf stable.

CKC Marinated Feta

And for the gardener in your life (or me) who can resist a citrus plant laden with fruit?

The gift of citrus!

I have gotten lemon, peach and lime trees from Specialized Plant Sales.  I’m amazed that I didn’t take this one home, because I’m a sucker for fruit bearing trees, especially when they are loaded.    Give this as a gift and you might just be gifted fruit from it in return, for years to come.

There are many other goodies at the SFC Farmer’s Market downtown that I haven’t detailed here.  I really like the idea of supporting our local farmers and artisans, so that they may continue to be able to do what they do for us.  Happy Shopping!

 

Leave a Reply

