Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Austin Empty Bowl Project November 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:50 pm
Tags: , ,

The Austin Empty Bowl Project has been an event on my radar for years.  I have attempted to sign up as a volunteer, too late to be accepted.  I have attempted to be a guest, dissuaded by the hours long line and hard parking.   This year, I begged my friend Charles Mayes, of Cafe Josie to let me help him and he obliged.  I showed up at the restaurant around 9:30 the day of the event, and he was cooking away.

 

Rough Beginning to soon be blended

 

The rough soup was then blended with the creamier portion, which brought the whole soup together in perfect harmony.

 

Second Soup Component

His now famous, Fire Roasted Artichoke, Tomato Bisque was profiled on Rachael Ray’s show years ago, and folks still come in asking for it.  He has no set soup menu, and makes a soup of the day, every day, based on what inspires him on a given day.    This soup has been his contribution  for the Empty Bowl Project for years, and folks keep coming back, and it was obvious that the word was out in the soup line, when folks showed up with their bowls.

 

My job was garnish:

 

Toasted Pepitas and Cotija Cheese

 

I was stoked to be a part of the whole event.  It is such an amazing event, that starts well in advance of the actual soup serving day.  Around 5000 ceramic bowls were designed, decorated and fired before this day, from kids at schools, from private parties, from celebrities, from Whole Foods events and on and on.  Some were amazing in their creativity, some so gorgeous in their simple kid-like spirit.  All for an amazing cause, the Capital Area Food Bank.

 

One of the many tables of bowls for soup

Each Bowl an individual design

Every Single Bowl Made with Love

 

The bowls made by  children really touched me.

 

Saying thank you when it was they, doing good

Kids are the Best of us

 

It was amazing to see that so many good folks were willing to wait in line for a cool bowl filled with amazing soup.  It made me feel humble, and I was happy to help out.

 

not even the line

I was surprised at this line almost an hour before the event started.  This line easily quadrupled and stayed at that level until 3:00 pm.

 

The whole event was so wonderful, and I am so thankful to get to be a part of it.    The Capital Area Food Bank serves so many in need, especially during the holidays.  You can host a food drive at your office, at your next party, or wherever.  Just ask that each person donate one item, and we can make sure everyone gets the good food they need to succeed.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Austin Empty Bowl Project”

  1. Jodi Says:

    It’s such an amazing event! We tried to stop in just after it started but couldn’t find parking and saw the line down the block. I did make a bowl to contribute and hopefully someone is now enjoying it at home!

  2. I really enjoyed it. I have experienced the parking problems before, and so I was happy to get in as a soup server. The bowls were amazing! I think we should host a bowl painting party next year.


Leave a Reply

