Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 320 November 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:21 am
Tags: , ,

For breakfast, I boiled water.  My coffee maker is on the fritz and I’ve been trying to fix it, rather than buy a new one, but I am not smart enough to figure out what the problem is.  Water gets hung up somewhere.  Anyhoo, I am making coffee the old fashioned way, which is cutting into my already challenged breakfast time.  So, no breakfast.

I met my friend Rachelle for lunch at Cafe Josie.  She writes a blog detailing her adventures with celiac disease and about eating gluten free.  She had not tried Cafe Josie, and I was confident they would be able to handle the gluten free issue in a delicious way.  She had the Truffled Vegetable Soup and the daily special which was King Salmon, with Yukon Gold mashers and vegetables.  I had a salad and the salmon special, and it was delicious.

For dinner, I was invited to Christian and Jamie‘s for Bola Pizza.   Christian was testing some new pie toppings, and they were delicious.  We dined al fresco by the fire pit, and it was a deliciously relaxing evening.  Bola Pizza will be available to the hungry masses at the SFC Farmer’s Market at Republic Square starting November 27, if everything continues to go according to plan.  The Bola Pizza trailer will be located at the Northeast end of the market.   This is exciting news!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 320”

  1. Carla – Thanks for the mention & even more for meeting me for lunch @CafeJosie and letting the chef/staff know I was needing to eat gluten-free!

    The meal was delicious & gluten-free! It is great to add Cafe Josie to my list of gluten-free restaurants here in Austin!


Leave a Reply

