Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Onion Planting Day! November 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 12:49 pm
Tags: , ,

The onions I ordered from Dixondale Farms in Carrizo Springs, arrived on Thursday.  Onions are one of my very favorite things to grow, because they are so incredibly rewarding.  I just finished the last of the onions I planted last December – they last for a long, long time once allowed to dry and if stored correctly.

I bought onions for me, and several other folks, so this will look like a lot!

Onion Sets

I had planned to get these in the ground yesterday, but surprisingly, was nearly taken out by a pinched nerve, or something incredibly painful, in my hip.  I’m still not sure what happened, but I was down for the count yesterday.  This morning, determined to power through and get my onions in the ground, I decided I could to it and headed on out.  I picked the last of the green beans, pulled up the corn that wasn’t going to make corn, and other assorted weeds and leaves, and drug the bag of compost over.  I was able to divide the compost and work it into the soil, sitting down on the raised beds, with a hand shovel.  Not the most efficient way, but it worked.  Oh, and the garlic I got from my Farm Day at Green Gate Farms has come up!

Garlic is up!

I then started planting the onions, 1015’s, Yellow Granex and White Bermuda, by sticking the non-forked end of a fork into the ground to make a hole, putting the onion in then covering it up.  This took a while, with my lack of mobility, but it was kind of nice being so close to the soil, pulling up roots of the vegetables and fruits that had grown there before, and remembering triumphs and failures of these two beds, that were gifted to me be a dear friend a while back.  I wrote about it here:  http://wp.me/po5VL-1z  These two 5×5 beds have produced tons of peppers, tomatoes, green beans, watermelon, onions, shallots, garlic, no corn, and I can’t even remember what else.   The soil has been added to, amended and turned countless times and these beds which are on the side of my house have been very productive.

The onions are planted the garlic is up, and there are two volunteer onions, shallots or possibly pink garlic that are thriving in the corner of one of these beds.  I think it is going to be a good crop of onions, come Spring, and it always feels good getting the gardens filled with onions and tucked in for the Fall and Winter months.

Onion and Garlic beds

 

4 Responses to “Onion Planting Day!”

  1. Claudia Says:

    So cool! I am out of garden space as of now, talking about building 2 more beds for near future. Thinking about planting now in deep 5 gal containers…think it will work?

  2. Marc O. Says:

    I got my onions planted over the weekend. Again, thanks for the Dixondale tip. I can’t wait to see what I get out of them.


Leave a Reply

